Recent posts from groups

Regional Archival Associations Consortium (RAAC) Annual Meeting Minutes Friday, July 31, 2020 3:30 pm EDT Online: Zoom Introductions The Regional Archival Associations Consortium (RAAC) provides an official venue for information exchange among the leadership of regional archival organizations, and among the Regionals and the Society of American Archivists. Our aim is to foster collaboration and offer formal channels to coordinate efforts among the Regionals, and between the Regionals and...
The AES annual meeting with occur on Tuesady, August 18th, from 11 to noon CST. We will be joined by representatives of the Graduate Archival Education Committee, who will discuss their recent work updating Guidelines for a Program in Archival Studies (GPAS).  Please register at: https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJwkd-qurTIqH9G7liLyenbXskUwA2A5j8z_
Link for meeting registration: https://sched.co/dRI5 Meeting Agenda: Introduction of section leadership; brief overview of section initiatives of the past year; announcement of election results (Helice Koffler) SAA Council Representative report (Steven Booth or Rachel Winston) Round robin introductions by attendees and announcements Show-and-tell of Chicago Symphony Orchestra Archives collection highlights (Frank Villella) Discussion with Chicago Dance History Project Executive Director Jenai...
Aug 6, 2020   Performing Arts Section
The Technical Subcommittee on Encoded Archival Standards is holding an open working meeting on Thursday, August 13, 2020 at 9 AM PDT / 10 AM MDT / 11 AM CDT / 12 PM EDT / 5 PM BST / 6 PM CEST/ 2 AM Friday AEST (https://sched.co/dQd6). The meeting is open for all to attend, and will cover our new outreach work, the on-going revision of Encoded Archival Context--Corporate bodies, Persons, and Families (EAC-CPF), and an update on current Encoded Archival Description (EAD) work. We will...
Thanks to all who attended and presented at the Section's (Virtual) Annual Business Meeting! The meeting minutes and slides have been posted to the microsite.
Aug 3, 2020   Description Section
Join the Science, Technology and Healthcare Section for our annual section meeting on Thursday, August 20th at 1:00pm-2:15pm CDT! Please register for free to receive the Zoom information. We will discuss how our institutions are impacted by COVID-19 and the challenges with documenting our communities, specifically to Science, Technology, and Health Care institutions. We will have breakout sessions so all can contribute. We will also hold our annual business meeting. Here is a list of...
Please join the Accessibility & Disability Section for our first annual section meeting this week on Thursday, July 30th, at 2pm ET/1 CT/12 MT/11 PT. Please register for free to receive the call information! Here is the agenda. We are pleased to feature two presentations: Nicole Joniec: Universally Designing for Accommodations: Accessibility at the Science History Institute Tyler Stump: Collecting Intellectual Disability Records in a Time of Deinstitutionalization Following the...
  AGENDA IAAS/LACCHA JOINT MEETING July 30, 8:30-10:30 am CT / 9:30:11:30am EST Advance registration required: https://bit.ly/IAASLACCHA2020 Welcome/thank you for joining Council Update by Petrina Jackson IAAS Business (Margarita Vargas-Betancourt) Election Results Plans for 2020-2021 LACCHA Business (Amanda Moreno and Christina Bleyer) Election Results Webinar Recap Upcoming plans IAAS Presentation Title of talk: Accessibility in Times of Turmoil at NYU Abu Dhabi and...
Congratulations to Moira O'Connell-Morganstein (2020-2022), who will be our new Junior Co-Chair, and Alexa Hagen, who will be our new Steering Committee Member (2020-2023). We are excited to have you both join our leadership and look forward to your contributions!
Jul 28, 2020   Design Records Section
And the winners are!! Please join me in welcoming..... Vice Chair / Chair Elect: Ingi House, Director of National Archives, Denver, CO Term Statement:  During this term I would like to support and coordinate with the chair in order to accomplish the mission of the IA section. In addition, I would like to outreach more and coordinate more resources for Independent and Solo archivists, including virtual chats where we can exchange ideas on more informal level and have a safe place to vent.    ...
RAO Election Results are in! On behalf of the RAO Nominating Committee I would like to thank you to all the candidates who ran for leadership positions in the Reference, Access, and Outreach Section of SAA. And another thank you to all who voted in the election. The successful candidates, and upcoming leaders in RAO are as follows: Cinda Nofziger- Vice Chair/Chair Elect (2020-2021) Greta Browning- Steering Committee Member (2020-2022) Daria Labinsky- Steering Committee Member (2020-2022)...
During our panel discussion two veteran collectors (and storytellers) Barry Ollman and Mitch Blank, will provide insite focusing on their personal paths, how they do what they do, and how archivists can work with collectors like themselves in a variety of ways.   We welcome you to the world of private collecting, focusing on music archives and show and tell of hidden gems.   Registration for this event is free and open to the public so please feel free to share with others.   Register below –...
We invite all members to join us at the first Performing Arts Section virtual business meeting. The global pandemic undoubtedly has had devastating consequences for the entertainment industry and performing arts archivists have responded to both the distinct challenges and opportunities lockdown has presented. Please join your colleagues to catch up on how you have been coping during these unprecedented times. We also will try to capture some of the Chicago flavor of our original meeting plans...
Jul 24, 2020   Performing Arts Section
The Native American Archives Section (NAAS) is excited to announce that we have five (5) scholarships available for Native American/tribal archivists. These scholarships will cover a one-year membership in the Society of American Archivists (SAA) as well as registration at SAA's fully virtual 2020 Annual Meeting. Interested applicants should submit a one- to two-paragraph statement to NAAS explaining why joining SAA and attending the Annual Meeting would benefit them and/or their community...
We are happy to announce the results of this year's LACCHA election! Our new Co-Chair is Camila Zorilla Tessler, Archivist at Yale University Library, Manuscripts and Archives. Camila is a Mexican-Brazilian immigrant who grew up in southern Arizona. She attended the University of Arizona, where she majored in Creative Writing and Theater before she left to get a Masters of Letters in Children's Literature at Newcastle University. On her return to Tucson, she worked as a receptionist before she...
The 2020 Privacy and Confidentiality elections results are in and the section leadership is pleased to congratulate:   Katrina Windon – 2020-2021 Vice Chair/Chair Elect Veronica Denison – 2020-2022 Steering Committee Member Elizabeth Russell – 2020-2022 Steering Committee Member Shelly Black – 2020-2021 Early Career Member Thanks to all the candidates who ran in this election and thanks to all the members who voted and submitted comments. Your participation is vital to the success of P&C!
Registration for the MDOS annual meeting is now available!  As part of ARCHIVES*RECORDS 2020, the MDOS annual meeting will be held virtually on Monday, July 27, 2020 from 12:00-1:15 CT. Check out the full list of participants and a link to registration here.
2020 Election: Candidate Statements Thank you to all of our excellent candidates for standing in the 2020 Archivists and Archives of Color Section election. Please take some time to review their candidate statements and get to know them so you can make an informed choice. You will be voting for: [1] Vice Chair/Chair-Elect (two-year term) [3] Steering Committee members (two-year term).  [1] Web Liason (one year term) [1] Newsletter Editor (one year term)  Ballots will...
The Security Section Steering Committee welcomes Jessica Doss and Jeff Lundgren who join us as volunteers for the coming service year. Both are students with varied backgrounds and excellent knowledge and skillsets which they offer to assist the section on projects. They will meet with the Steering Committee, coordinating their tasks and offering their insights.  As with the Early Career Volunteer, Heather Parks, elected by ballot during the annual election, we ask the section membership to...
Jul 18, 2020   Security Section
Friday, July 31, 2020 12:30 pm PDT / 1:30 pm MDT / 2:30 pm CDT / 3:30 pm EDT Register here: https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJwofuGorDMiEtA5caEYnSJWf21afyn1mQiD Regional Archival Associations Consortium (RAAC) Annual Meeting Agenda Friday, July 31, 2020 3:30 pm EDT Online: Zoom Introductions Reports Co-Chairs Advocacy Disaster Education Grants Membership Public Awareness Joint Advocacy Working Group Report SAA Council News New Business Open Membership  Old...
Wednesday, July 29, 2020 12 pm PDT / 1 pm MDT / 2 pm CDT / 3 pm EDT Recording [full link at bottom] (*Note: You do not need a Microsoft Teams account to watch!) The Regional Archival Associations Consortium (RAAC) is pleased to announce the Planning a Virtual Conference for Archival Organizations webinar taking place on Wednesday, July 29th at 3 pm EDT.  DeeDee Baldwin (@DeeDeeBaldwinMS) is the History Research Librarian and liaison to the Honors College at Mississippi State University...
Candidate for Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect, 2020-2021 (one vacancy) Mac Ice I serve as Director of Special Collections and Archives and Assistant Professor of Library Scienceat Abilene Christian University, Abilene, TX. Earlier in my career I interpreted 18th- and 19th-century Tennessee history at a house museum near Nashville; served as Director of Research Services at Disciples of Christ Historical Society and taught Biblical Studies at a Christian secondary school. I hold degrees from Lipscomb...
The Archival Spirit, July 2020 Contents (see PDF attachment): Letter from the Chair --- Taffey Hall, Director and Archivist, Southern Baptist Historical Library and Archives, Nashville, Tennessee Call for Participation: "Remote" ARCS Open Panel --- Adam Winters, Archivist, Archives and Special Collections, James P. Boyce Centennial Library, Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, Kentucky Worldwide Archives News -- Archives from 2019 --- Thomas J....