A&D Courses

Courses and workshops are arranged by tiers and then alphabetically. They are not in sequential order.

A certificate participant has successfully completed (i.e., attended and/or passed examinations for) eight required courses from the four tiers listed below within 36 months from the month of the first course examination. More knowledgeable participants may elect to test out of Foundational courses.

  • Three Foundational courses, which must include both Arrangement and Description: Fundamentals and Describing Archives: A Content Standard (DACS)
  • Three Tactical and Strategic courses, which must include either Copyright Issues in Digital Archives OR Privacy and Confidentiality in Digital Archives
  • One Tools and Services course
  • One Transformational course

Courses marked with an asterisk (*) below denote a requirement of the Arrangement & Description certificate program.

Continuing Education Course and Workshop Catalog - A&D


Tactical and Strategic

Tactical and Strategic

Tools and Services


Subscribe to Education eNews

Want to keep up-to-date on the latest course offerings? Sign up for our Education eNews updates for education insiders!