Business Meeting 2014

Thank you to everyone who was able to us at the Museum Archives Section Business Meeting at the CoSA - NAGARA - SAA Joint Annual Meeting that took place on Friday, August 15 at 12:30PM (Marriott Wardman Park, Room Washington 2 [Exhibition Level])

Business Meeting Agenda:

12:30 – 12:35 p.m.  Greeting and Introductions – Outgoing Cochairs Heidi Abbey and Jennie Thomas

12:35 – 12:50 p.m.  Survey Results – Heidi Abbey

12:50 – 12:55 p.m.  Ballot Results and New Officer Introductions – Incoming Chair Lorraine Stuart

12:55 – 1:05 p.m.  From the Chair – Lorraine Stuart

1:05 – 1:10 p.m.  SAA Council Liaison – Geof Huth

1:10 – 1:15 p.m.  CALM – Maygene Daniels

1:15 – 1:35 p.m.  Steering Committee Updates:  Newsletter – Madeleine Thompson, Website – Supriya Wronkiewicz, S&BP Working Group – Susan Hernandez

1:35 – 1:40 p.m.  2015 Program Committee – Rebecca Bizonet

1:40 – 2:00 p.m.  2015 Program Brainstorming – Lorraine Stuart

 2:00 – 2:30 p.m.  S&BP Working Group Meeting – Rachel Chatalbash and Susan Hernandez, and Social Time!


Full meeting minutes are now available and can found here.

2014 Museum Archives Section Survey results posted! 

During the 2013 Annual MAS Meeting in New Orleans, participants in the meeting shared the following three suggestions:

1) a strong interest in improving communication tools available to MAS members,
2) facilitating opportunities to network with other members, and
3) exploring methods for archival advocacy within our institutions.

As a result, MAS conducted a survey of members to address these concerns as well as collect feedback that may be used to guide future MAS initiatives. Those responses will now be evaluated and the findings will be presented at the MAS Business Meeting on Friday, August 15, from noon until 2:00 p.m. We hope to see you then; however, if you cannot attend, please note that we'll be live Tweeting, so keep an eye out for additional details as we get closer to the SAA Annual Meeting. Click here for more information about the results of the survey.

Thank you to everyone who participated in the survey. If you have any questions or comments about the survey, please contact Heidi Abbey and/or Jennie Thomas.

SAA Annual Elections:  Thank you to everyone who ran in this year's election. Here are the 2014-2015 Museum Archives Section Officers!

Lorraine Stuart
Barbara A. Mathe

Recording Secretary
Rachel Chatalbash

Newsletter Editor
Madeleine Thompson

Web Liaison
 Supriya Wronkiewicz