Harold T. Pinkett Minority Student Award

The Harold T. Pinkett Minority Student Award was established in 1993 to encourage minority students to consider careers in the archival profession and promote minority participation in SAA. The award provides financial support for a minority student enrolled in a post-secondary institution to attend the SAA annual meeting.


The award honors archival pioneer, Dr. Harold T. Pinkett, a dedicated member of SAA and the Archivists and Archives of Color Roundtable. Dr. Pinkett was the first African American to be appointed an archivist at the National Archives, where he served for more than thirty-five years as a specialist in agricultural archives, senior records appraiser, and chief archivist of the Natural Resources Records Branch. In 1962, Dr. Pinkett was named an SAA fellow, he served as the editor of the American Archivist from 1968–1971 and served on the SAA Council from 1971–1972.

For more information on Dr. Pinkett, read Karen L. Jefferson's article, "Dr. Harold T. Pinkett: First Black Archivist at the National Archives," African-American and Third World Archivists Newsletter, 3, no. 1 (March 1989): 3,6.

Application Instructions

Nominations are due to the Pinkett Award Committee by February 28 of each year. For more information about applying, please see SAA's Harold T. Pinkett Minority Student Award page.

Recipients of the Pinkett Award

2023: Zoe Hume (Florida State University, Museum Education and Visitor-Centered Curation Program)

2022: Erin Castillo (San Jose State University, Library and Information Science Program)

2021:  Aparna Subramanian (New York University, Moving Image Archiving and Preservation Program)

2020: Carol Ng-He (San José State University)

2019: Angela Osbourne (San José State University) AND Antonia Charlemagne-Marshall (University of West Indies)

2018: Juber Ayala (Rutgers University) AND Jessica Tai (University of California, Los Angeles)

2017: NaVosha Copeland (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) AND Chido Muchemwa (University of Texas at Austin)

2016: Gailyn Lehuanani Bopp (University of Hawai’i at Manoa) AND Karen Li-Lun Hwang (Pratt Institute)

2015: Talia Guzmán-González (University of Maryland, College Park)

Rachel E. Winston (University of Texas at Austin)

2014: Allan Jason Sarmiento (California State University, Sacramento) AND Raquel Flores-Clemons (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

2013: Lori E. Harris (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) AND Angel Maria Diaz (University of California, Los Angeles)

2012: Kapena Shim (University of Hawai‘i Mānoa)

2011: Kelly E. Lau (University of British Columbia) AND Melvin J. Collier (Clayton State University)

2010: Miranda N. Rivers (Simmons College) AND Vivian Wong (UCLA)

2009: Krystal Appiah (University of California, Los Angeles) AND I-Ting Emily Chu (New York University)

2008: Monique Lloyd (Emporia State University) AND Tiffany-Kay Sangwand (University of California, Los Angeles)

2007: Bergis K. Jules (Indiana University) AND Janel Quirante (University of Hawaii at Manoa)

2006: Lanell James (University of Michigan) AND Shawn Phillip San Roman (University of Wisconsin, Madison)

2005: Jennifer Osorio (University of California, Los Angeles) AND Paul Sevilla (University of California, Los Angeles)

2004: Josué Hurtado (University of Michigan) AND Georgette Mayo (University of South Carolina)

2003: Michelle Baildon (Simmons College)

2002: Petrina D. Jackson (University of Pittsburgh)

2001: Rose Roberto (University of California, Los Angeles)

2000: Not awarded

1999: Teresa Maria Mora (New York University) AND Tywanna Marie Whorley (University of Pittsburgh)

1998: Elenita M. Tapawan (University of Hawaii, Honolulu)

1997: Gloria Meraz (University of Texas at Austin)

1996: Letha Johnson (Washburn University)

1995: Ida E. Jones (Howard University)

1994: Kathryn M. Neal (University of Michigan)