J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award

Purpose and Criteria for Selection:

The J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award honors an individual, institution, or organization that promotes greater public awareness, appreciation, or support of archival activities or programs. The individual's or institution's contributions may take the form of advocacy, publicity, legislation, financial support, or a similar action that fosters archival work or raises public consciousness of the importance of archival work. Contributions should have broad, long-term impact at the regional level or beyond. 


Nominees must be from outside the archives profession.

Individuals directly involved in archival work, either as paid or volunteer staff, or institutions or organizations directly responsible for an archival program are not eligible for this award.

Nomination Requirements:

A completed nomination form.

Sponsor and Funding:

Established in 1989, the award honors J. Franklin Jameson, a noted American historian, former president of the American Historical Association, and long-time advocate for the establishment of a U.S. National Archives. The award is funded by the Society of American Archivists Foundation. Up to three awards may be given each year.


A plaque.

First Awarded:


Selection Committee:

The J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award Subcommittee of the SAA Awards Committee consists of four members of SAA:

  • Chair of the Reference, Access, and Outreach Section, who shall serve a term concurrent with his or her office
  • Members appointed each year by the SAA Vice President to serve a three-year term. 
  • One of the co-chairs of the Awards Committee (ex officio).
  • The senior member of the subcommittee in years of service shall serve as its chair.

Submission Deadline and Nomination Form:

Click here to preview the nomination form and/or to start a nomination. All nominations must be submitted by February 28 of each year. 


J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award Recipients:

2023: The West Virginia Feminist Activist Collection (WVFAC) Advisory Team (Christine Weiss Daugherty, Susan Kelley, Dr. Judith Stitzel, and Carroll Wilkinson)

2022: Not Awarded

2021: Not Awarded

2020:   Brad Pomerance, CJ Eastman AND Council of Independent Colleges’ Humanities Research for the Public Good Program

2019:   Tempestt Hazel AND The Kitchen Sisters (Davia Nelson and Nikki Silva)

2018:   Yvonne Lewis Holley AND Brad Meltzer

2017:   Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI)

2016:   Lin-Manuel Miranda and Ron Chernow

2015:   Adrena Ifill Blagburn

2014:   LGBT Center of Central PA History Project AND National History Day

2013:   AARP Virginia and Dr. Warren Stewart

2012:   Eve Kahn, Bebe Miller, Phillip Stewart

2011:  “Who Do You Think You Are?” (NBC)

2010:  The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation

2009:  Ross King (Georgia Historical Records Advisory Board)

2008:  Data-Intensive Cyber Environments (DICE)

2007:  The Chicago Tribune (accepted by Debra K. Bade)

2006:   U.S. Senator Harry Reid (D-Nevada)

2005:   George F. Farr, Jr.

2004:   Not awarded

2003:   Arizona State University

2002:   Joan Winters, Louise Addis

2001:   Not awarded

2000:   Not awarded

1999:   John B. Harlan

1998:   Newsday

1997:   Kraft Foods, Inc.

1996:   Richard Benson

1995:   Not awarded

1994:   Hudson's Bay Company

1993:   Thomas D. Clark, Louise McBee, John Marshall

1992:   Not awarded

1991:   New York State Assembleyman William B. Hoyt and The Mellon Foundation

1990:   U.S. Senator Mark O. Hatfield (R-Oregon)

1989:   U.S. Senator Thomas F. Eagleton (D-Missouri)