Register Now: Archival Advocacy at Home: Preparing & Messaging for Visiting District Congressional Offices Webcast

Join members of the CoSA/NAGARA/RAAC/SAA Joint Working Group on Issues and Awareness for an informative webcast designed to prepare you with the information, tools, and messaging that you need to have a successful District Congressional Office visit.

SPEAKERS: Sarah Koonts, State Archivist, North Carolina State Archives, and 
Jim CorridanChairperson, Joint Working Group on Issues and Awareness
DATE & TIME: Thursday, April 18 / 2:00 PM ET | 1:00 PM CT | 12:00 PM MT | 11:00 AM PT
PRICE: FREE

Archives are often easy targets for losing federal funding and assistance - but it doesn’t have to be that way! Many times, simply advocating for and educating your elected representatives and their staff about the vital role of archives and the value of archival collections can turn ambivalence or hostility into loyal support!

Later this month and into early May, archivists around the country will be visiting their local Congressional District offices to advocate on behalf of federal funding for archives. These visits are a follow-up to last August’s successful “Archives on the Hill” event, sponsored by the Council of State Archivists (CoSA), the National Association of Government Archives and Records Administrators (NAGARA), the Regional Archival Associations Consortium (RAAC), and the Society of American Archivists (SAA).

JOIN members of the Joint Working Group on Issues and Awareness for this preparatory webcast during which the presenters will discuss the basics of a Congressional office visit, messaging ideas, and other practical advice for contacting your Representative or Senator.

This webcast and subsequent office visits come at a perfect time: just before Congress begins mark-ups and hearings on the President’s budget bill – a budget submission that cuts many federal programs that are vital to archives, including the National Archives and Records Administration, as well as zero-budgeting and slating for closing the National Historical Publications and Records Commission, the Institute for Museum and Library Services, and the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH). Now is the time for us to raise our voices in support of federal funding for archives!

To prepare for this webinar and your district office visits, please see our Advocacy Guide. Attendees of this webcast will walk away from this presentation feeling better prepared with the information and tools necessary for a successful visit!

A recording of this webcast will be available on CoSA’s YouTube channel, SAA’s online course portal (see “On-Demand Events"), and NAGARA’s Advocacy Page.

REGISTER NOW ONLINE!