Preservation Section Elections Nominees 2015-2016

Vice-Chair/Chair Elect candidates:


Frances Harrell



I'm excited to continue serving the preservation field and my colleagues by bringing my professional skills and dedication to the Preservation Section leadership, especially as opportunities arise to collaborate with our allied professionals.



Frances Harrell is a Preservation Specialist at NEDCC, where she provides preservation assistance to small and medium-sized cultural heritage institutions through assessments, consulting, education, and outreach. She serves as Co-Chair of the Digital Preservation Interest Group for ALA ALCTS Preservation and Reformatting Section, Vice-President of the Simmons SLIS Alumni Board, and is a member of the Moving Image and Recorded Sound Roundtable for New England Archivists. She also sits on the Executive Board of the Jamaica Plain Tuesday Club, a historic preservation organization in Boston, MA. She received an MLIS from Simmons College GSLIS and a BA in English Literature from the University of Florida, and has worked in both development and collections management.




Sibyl Schaefer 


I’d like to serve as Vice Chair/Chair Elect for the Preservation Section Steering Committee because preservation, especially digital preservation, is a passion of mine. I’m interested in continuing the trend to bring digital preservation topics into the Preservation Section’s realm in order to more thoroughly explore overlaps and intersections between digital and analog preservation practices.  



Sibyl Schaefer is the Digital Preservation Analyst for Research Data Curation at the University of California, San Diego. She is Program Manager for Chronopolis and helps define long-term digital preservation solutions for the UC San Diego campus. Schaefer was previously the Head of Digital Programs at the Rockefeller Archive Center where she managed the adoption of tools and technologies to assist in the care of archival materials. Schaefer previously served as the Metadata Librarian for the University of Vermont’s Center for Digital Initiatives and as the User Services Liaison on the Archivists’ Toolkit project out of New York University. Schaefer was selected as an ALA Emerging Leader in 2011 and a participant in the Archives Leadership Institute in 2013.  She is currently Chair of the ArchivesSpace Technical Advisory Council and is a member of the Society of American Archivists’ Digital Archives Specialist (DAS) Committee.


Nominating Committee Candidate:

Jill Sweetapple  


I started my career in television, but after 18 years with Turner Broadcasting, decided to switch gears and attended library school at Florida State University. While completing a class project, I visited a small archive and never looked back! I have been a full-time archivist since 2010. I worked for, the DeKalb History Center and am currently a reference archivist at the Georgia Archives.  



My criteria for choosing a slate of nominees to help SAA and the Preservation Section in its mission?

Diversity….nominees from all stages of their careers, working in all sorts of institutions and from all over the country. That way we can make sure to include the concerns of the widest variety of archival organizations.