2016 SAA Election Results

SAA's 2016 ballot featured sixteen candidates vying for four offices: Vice President/President-Elect, Council (one-year term), Council (three-year term), and Nominating Committee. Elected to serve are:

  • Tanya Zanish-Belcher, Wake Forest University, has been elected SAA Vice President/President-Elect. She begins her one-year term this August and will become SAA's 73rd president in 2017-2018.
  • Courtney Chartier (Emory University), Erin Lawrimore (University of North Carolina at Greensboro), and Bertram Lyons (AVPreserve) have been elected to the SAA Council for three-year terms (2016-2019).
  • Michelle Light (University of Las Vegas, Nevada) has been elected to the SAA Council for a one-year term (2016-2017). 
  • The 2017 Nominating Committee will comprise Melissa Gonzales (Witte Museum), T-Kay Sangwand (University of California, Los Angeles), Holly Smith (Spelman College), and two third-year Council members selected by the Council at its May 2016 meeting. As the individual who received the most votes, Smith will serve as chair of the Nominating Committee. 

SAA is grateful to the 2016 Nominating Committee members for their service and to all those individuals who put their names forward for the 2016 ballot.

And thanks to the many members who voted in this election. We achieved a participation rate of nearly 24 percent!

It's never too early to submit names of prospective candidates for next year's election. Click here.