60 Earn Digital Archives Specialist Certificates from Society of American Archivists

CHICAGO—Sixty archivists earned the Digital Archives Specialist (DAS) certificate from the Society of American Archivists (SAA) after completing required coursework and passing a comprehensive examination in August. SAA’s DAS certificate program was developed by experts in the field of digital archives and provides archivists with the information and tools needed to manage the demands of born-digital records.

DAS certificate holders must complete nine courses from four tiers: Foundational, Tactical and Strategic, Tools and Services, and Transformational, and pass the comprehensive examination. DAS certificate holders have the skills to understand the nature of electronic records; define requirements, roles, and responsibilities related to digital archives; formulate strategies for appraising, describing, managing, organizing, and preserving digital archives; plan for new tools and technologies and integrate them into existing functions to appraise, capture, preserve, and provide access to digital collections; curate, store, and retrieve original masters and access copies of digital archives; and provide reliable service related to electronic records and digital archives.

The new Digital Archives Specialists are: Christopher Abraham (Dwight D Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum), Amy Allen (University of Arkansas Libraries), Daniel Alonzo (Texas General Land Office), April K. Anderson (Illinois State University), Rebecca C. Baird (National Society Daughters of the American Revolution), Erinn Barefield (University of Texas Medical Branch), Adam C. Bergfeld (William J. Clinton Presidential Library and Museum), Sharon Bradley (University of Georgia Law Library), Susan Chore (The Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library), Sarah Dansberger (Aperture Foundation), Christine Di Bella (Institute for Advanced Study), Sarah Dorpinghaus (University of Kentucky), Kara Ellis (William J. Clinton Presidential Library and Museum), Crystal R. Finlay (Bethune-Cookman University), Thomas Flynn (Winston-Salem State University), Michele Fricke (Capital Group Companies), Amanda Fulcher (National Society Daughters of the American Revolution), Glenn Gardner (The Library of Congress), Patricia Glowinski (Center for Jewish History), Adriane Hanson (University of Georgia Libraries), Jennifer Head (Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary), Matthew Hebert (National Archives at College Park), Hathaway Hester (BMO Harris Bank), Esther Hidalgo (National Archives and Records Administration), Dolores Hooper (New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Foundation), Jennifer I. Johnson (Cargill Incorporated), Letha Johnson (University of Kansas), Katherene Kim (National Archives at College Park), Brenna Lissoway (Chaco Culture National Historical Park), Julie Ludwig (The Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library), Bevin Maloney (William J. Clinton Presidential Library and Museum), Mary Manning (San Francisco African American Historical and Cultural Society), Michael Reagor (Texas State Library and Archives Commission), Christie Moffatt (National Library of Medicine), Erik Moore (University of Minnesota), Barbara Morley (Cornell University), Heather L. Moulaison (University of Missouri), Brittany Parris (National Archives and Records Administration), Barbara Percival (St John's), Sarah Pinard (University at Buffalo, State University of New York), John Powell (National Archives at College Park), Herbert Ragan (William J. Clinton Presidential Library and Museum), Maren Read, Emily Reiher, Whitney Ross (William J. Clinton Presidential Library and Museum), Mary Rubin (University of Central Florida), Kevin Schlottmann (Center for Jewish History), Sarah Shipley (Office of the City Clerk, Seattle), Hannah Silverman (The Archives of the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee), Matthew Snyder (New York Public Library), Jennifer Spamer (Virginia Mason Medical Center), Rachel I. Sutcliffe (National Archives and Records Administration), Alexandra Swast (State Bar of Texas), Julie Swierczek (Harvard Art Museums), Rachel Telford (The Library of Congress), Sandra Varry (Florida State University Libraries), Jennifer Whitlock (Rochester Institute of Technology), James Williamson (Sam Houston State University), Tamar A. Zeffren (JDC), and Snow Zhu (American Civil Liberties Union).

A total of 150 people have earned Digital Archives Specialist certificates since the program began in October 2011. Currently, there are more than six hundred participants in SAA’s DAS program who are working toward earning a certificate. For more information, visit www2.archivists.org/prof-education/das or contact SAA Education Director Solveig De Sutter (sdesutter@archivists.org).


Founded in 1936, the Society of American Archivists is North America’s oldest and largest national archival professional association. SAA enables more than 6,100 individual and institutional members to achieve professional excellence and foster innovation to ensure the identification, preservation, and use of records of enduring value. For more information, visit www.archivists.org.