2013 Election Results

SAA’s 2013 ballot featured fourteen candidates vying for three offices: Vice President/President-Elect, Council, and Nominating Committee. Here are the winners:


  • Kathleen Roe, the director of archives and records management operations at the New York State Archives, has been elected SAA Vice President/President-Elect. She begins her one-year term this August and will become SAA’s 70th president in 2014–2015.
  • Lisa Mangiafico (Soroptimist International of the Americas), Timothy Pyatt (The Pennsylvania State University), and Helen Wong Smith (University of Hawai’i—College of Pharmacy) have been elected to the SAA Council for three-year terms (2013–2016).
  • The 2014 Nominating Committee will comprise Jennifer Johnson (Cargill Incorporated Corporate Archives), Lori Lindberg (San Jose State University School of Library and Information Science), Amy Schindler (The College of William and Mary, Special Collections Research Center, Earl Gregg Swem Library), and two third-year Council members selected by the Council at its May 2013 meeting. Schindler will serve as chair of the Nominating Committee.