Action Alert: Stop the Fiscal Disaster for Historical Records in the United States!

Tell the Senate Appropriations Committee to Fund NHPRC at $5 million

If your Senator is a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee:  Please call or fax the Senator’s office – before close of business on Friday, June 8, 2012 – to ask for support of the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), the “grant-making” arm of the National Archives and Records Administration. The Senate Appropriations Committee will be acting on the bill to fund NHPRC on Tuesday, June 12; all comments must be received by Friday, June 8. (See the list of Senate Appropriations Committee members below.)

The Issue: The President’s FY13 appropriations budget request proposes only $3 million for NHPRC, a $2 million reduction from the current level of $5 million. This amount is not sufficient to support the ongoing programs and mission of the NHPRC at even a minimal level. It is up to Congress to preserve this program, which has already been cut substantially in previous fiscal years. For FY 2013 we urge the Senate to provide at least $5 million (level funding) for the NHPRC grants program. 

Take Action! Call or fax your member on the Senate Appropriations Committee to express your support for restoration of $5 million for NHPRC funding as part of the National Archives budget. In your call or fax, speak to the specific benefits of NHPRC for your state/organization/users. The more the Senator understands the benefits to his or her constituents, the more convincing your message will be. Your message need not be extensive—a brief phone call or a one-page fax that speaks directly to the positive benefits that NHPRC brings to your state or organization can have a significant impact!   Please encourage archives, libraries, and other historical organizations to call or fax on behalf of their organization and users, too. 

More detailed contact information for your Senator can be found on the Senate website at:

Members of the Senate Appropriations Committee are:

Democratic members:

Daniel Inouye, Hawaii  202-224-3934 | fax 202-224-6747
Patrick J. Leahy, Vermont 202-224-4242 | fax 202-224-3479
Tom Harkin, Iowa 202-224-3254 | fax 202-224-9369
Barbara Milkulski, Maryland   202-224-4654 | fax 202-224-8858
Herb Kohl, Wisconsin 202-224-5653 | fax 202-224-9787
Patty Murray, Washington 202-224-2621 | fax 202-224-0238
Dianne Feinstein, California  202-224-3841 | fax 202-228-3954
Richard J. Durbin, Illinois 202-224-2152 | fax 202-228-0400
Tim Johnson, South Dakota 202-224-5842 | fax 202-228-5765
Mary Landrieu, Louisiana  202-224-5824 | fax 202-224-9735
Jack Reed, Rhode Island 202-224-4642 | fax 202-224-4680
Frank Lautenberg, New Jersey 202-224-3224 | fax 202-228-4054
Ben Nelson, Nebraska 202-224-6551 | fax 202-228-0012
Mark Pryor, Arkansas 202-224-2353 | fax 202-228-0908
Jon Tester, Montana 202-224-2644 | fax 202-224-8594
Sherrod Brown, Ohio   202-224-2315 | fax 202-228-6321

Republican members:

Thad Cochran, Mississippi 202-224-5054 | fax 202-224-9450
Mitch McConnell, Kentucky 202-224-2541 | fax 202-224-2499
Richard Shelby, Alabama 202-224-5744 | fax 202-224-3416
Kay Bailey Hutchison, Texas 202-224-5922 | fax 202-224-0776
Lamar Alexander, Tennessee 202-224-4944 | fax 202-228-3398
Susan Collins, Maine 202-224-2523 | fax 202-224-2693
Lisa Murkowski, Alaska 202-224-6665 |  fax 202-224-5301
Lindsey Graham, South Carolina 202-224-5972 | fax 202-228-4611
Mark Kirk, Illinois 202-224-2854 | fax 202-228-4611
Dan Coats, Indiana 202-224-5623 | fax 202-228-1820
Roy Blunt, Missouri 202-224-5721 | fax 202-224-8149
Jerry Moran, Kansas 202-224-6521 | fax 202-228-6966
John Hoeven, North Dakota 202-224-2551 | fax 202-224-7999
Ron Johnson, Wisconsin 202-224-5323 | fax 202-228-6965