Technical Subcommittee on Encoded Archival Standards (TS-EAS)

The Technical Subcommittee on Encoded Archival Standards (TS-EAS) of the SAA Standards Committee is responsible for the ongoing maintenance of EAD and EAC-CPF, including all schemas and related code, as well as the development of future companion standards, such as the proposed Encoded Archival Context for Functions. Its membership will be sufficient to encompass the necessary domain expertise for each standard and schema development, and will include broad international representation including SAA members and other professionals from the international archival community. The members of the committee will foster the thoughtful evolution of archival encoding standards on behalf of and in consultation with the global archival community and in close collaboration with the International Council on Archives Experts Group on Archival Description.

Recent News & Announcements

Webinar: Introducing revisions to the Encoded Archival Context - Corporate bodies, Persons, and Families (EAC-CPF) standard
The Technical Subcommittee on Encoded Archival Standards is pleased to release Encoded Archival Context - Corporate bodies, Persons, Families (EAC-CPF) 2.0, a draft updated version of the standard for public review and comment. To ensure the greatest possible input from EAC-CPF users around the world, the subcommittee is calling for comments on the proposed changes to the current version, EAC-CPF 2010. The deadline for comments on the change proposals is June 30, 2021.
The Society of American Archivists’ Encoded Archival Standards (EAS) Section Steering Committee and the Technical Subcommittee for Encoded Archival Standards (TS-EAS) are excited to announce the availability of “Encoded Archival Standards: A Primer”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WYWQeBRnhz0
The Technical Subcommittee on Encoded Archival Standards (TS-EAS) would like to kick-off 2021 with an update on some of our recent as well as upcoming activities pertaining to EAC-CPF and EAD.
Solicitation for volunteers! Join the Technical Subcommittee on Encoded Archival Standards (TS-EAS)
We are seeking self-nominations from the international community to join TS-EAS. Anyone outside of the United States who has experience working with or implementing archival encoding standards is encouraged to apply as an international member.
SAA's Technical Subcommittee for Encoded Archival Standards (TS-EAS) is pleased to highlight several new resources in our GitHub repository, following on the SAA 2020 annual conference
The Technical Subcommittee on Encoded Archival Standards is holding an open working meeting on Thursday, August 13, 2020 at 9 AM PDT / 10 AM MDT / 11 AM CDT / 12 PM EDT / 5 PM BST / 6 PM CEST/ 2 AM Friday AEST (https://sched.co/dQd6).
Syndicate content