2020 LACCHA Election Results

We are happy to announce the results of this year's LACCHA election!

Our new Co-Chair is Camila Zorilla Tessler, Archivist at Yale University Library, Manuscripts and Archives. Camila is a Mexican-Brazilian immigrant who grew up in southern Arizona. She attended the University of Arizona, where she majored in Creative Writing and Theater before she left to get a Masters of Letters in Children's Literature at Newcastle University. On her return to Tucson, she worked as a receptionist before she attended the University of Arizona again, this time for a Masters in Library Science, funded by the Knowledge River Program. She has worked at several institutions, including the University of Arizona Special Collections, The Ohio State University, and Yale University, all in the position of an archivist or archival assistant. 

Our new Steering Committee Member-at-Large is Lizeth Ramírez, Librarian/Archivist for Los Angeles Communities and Cultures at the University of California, Los Angeles. Lizeth Ramírez joined the UCLA Library Special Collections curating team in her current role in March 2019. Prior to joining UCLA, she was an Archivist and Reference Librarian at the Orange Public Library & History Center in Orange, California, where she managed the local history archive for over eleven years. During her career, she has focused on underrepresented communities, working to center them and their stories in the archival record, as well as creating programming initiatives that celebrate their history. Born and raised in Southern California, her bilingual (English-Spanish) skills have facilitated her work with local diaspora communities with links to Latin America. She earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Anthropology from the University of California, Irvine in 1999, and a Master of Library and Information Science from San Jose State University in 2007.

Join us in welcoming the newest members of the LACCHA Steering Committee!

Amanda Moreno, Outgoing Co-Chair
Christina Bleyer, Co-Chair
Dylan Joy, Online Communications Liaison
Béatrice Skokan, Steering Committee Member-at-Large

Follow LACCHA on Facebook (like us, too!), or write to the LACCHA webmaster at saalaccha(at)gmail.com