SAA Election 2012

Sixteen candidates vying for four different offices are slated for SAA’s 2012 ballot. The candidate elected vice president will serve a one-year term beginning in August 2012 and then will become SAA’s 69th president in 2013–2014. SAA members will also elect a new treasurer who will serve a three-year term beginning in August and running through the SAA Annual Meeting in August 2015. There are three available seats on the Council. Those elected will serve three-year terms beginning in August and running through the 2015 SAA Annual Meeting. The three candidates elected to the 2013 Nominating Committee will serve one-year terms beginning immediately.

The complete slate is listed in the box on the right; click on each candidate's name to read a brief bio along with his or her response to the questions (below) posed by this year's Nominating Committee.

Vice President/President-Elect: Describe your vision for accomplishing the strategic goals of technology, diversity, and advocacy/public awareness as outlined in the Strategic Priority Outcomes and Activities document.

Treasurer: What actions should the treasurer take to ensure that SAA remains fiscally strong and solvent while pursuing its strategic priorities and responding to opportunities and proposals that may exist outside of the strategic priorities?

Council: Taking into account SAA’s strategic priorities, in which specific initiatives would you take a leadership role? How would you go about implementing these given the competing priorities of the organization while remaining responsive to members and their needs?

Nominating Committee: An essential component of the nomination and election process is identification of new leaders within SAA who embody the diversity of the archives profession. Describe what you believe to be the core responsibility of the members of the Nominating Committee, and outline your ideas for identifying the next generation of SAA leaders to ensure that new or distinctive voices and perspectives contribute to the future of the profession.

(Click here for SAA’s strategic priorities.)

These questions were developed by SAA’s 2012 Nominating Committee: Chair Adriana Cuervo (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Rebekah Kim (GLBT Historical Society), Kelcy Shepherd (Amherst College Library), and Council members Thomas Frusciano (Rutgers University), and Deborra Richardson (National Museum of American History).

Cast Your Vote

SAA members who are eligible to vote can then cast their votes online between March 15 and April 15, 2012. This is the fourth year that SAA is partnering with VoteNet Solutions, a leading provider of secure online voting software for nonprofit associations.

If you wish to receive a paper ballot, please contact Carlos Salgado at Paper ballots must be postmarked by April 15.

Please note the following:

  • All individual members, student members, and primary contacts of institutional members who are in good standing on February 29, 2012, will be eligible to vote in the 2012 Election. Members who join on or after March 1, 2012, will be eligible to vote in the 2013 Election.
  • SAA staff will export and upload voter data to the online ballot system during the first week of March. Voters will be able to access their online ballot between March 15 and April 15, 2012, via their SAA username and password as recorded in the SAA database at the time of the data export.
  • Members are strongly encouraged to visit and log in to the SAA website to verify access to the system. If you do not know your login information, you may click on the specified link on that page to retrieve it via email. If you have any difficulty, please call us toll-free at 1-866-722-7858 for further assistance.
  • If you wish to change your username and password for the purposes of the SAA Election, you must do so prior to 5:00 p.m. CST on Monday, February 29, 2012.

Slate of Candidates

The Nominating Committee has slated the following SAA members as candidates for office in the 2012 election:

Vice President/


  • Mark Duffy
    The Archives of the Episcopal Church
  • James Roth
    John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum


Nominating Committee

2012 Election Home