Update to 2022 SAA Election Slate

January 21, 2022—A recent change has been made to the 2022 SAA election ballot. Due to unforeseen circumstances, candidate for Council Itza Carbajal has chosen to step out of the election.

The Nominating Committee has now confirmed Joyce Gabiola (Lambda Archives of San Diego) as a candidate for the SAA Council. See the new, complete slate for the 2022 election below. Information about each candidate will be posted to the SAA website in late February.

Vice President/President-Elect

  • Ricardo Punzalan 
    University of Michigan
  • Helen Wong Smith
    University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa, Hamilton Library


  • Krystal Appiah
    University of Virginia Library
  • Jillian Cuellar
    Tulane University
  • Joyce Gabiola
    Lambda Archives of San Diego
  • Jennifer Johnson
    Cargill Incorporated
  • Chela Scott Weber
    OCLC Research
  • Lydia Tang

Nominating Committee

  • Cesar Gallegos
    Walt Disney Archives
  • Louis Jones
    Wayne State University
  • Carli V. Lowe
    San José State University
  • Jessica C. Neal
    Williams College
  • Brittany Newberry
    Atlanta University Center Robert W. Woodruff Library
  • Shannon O'Neill
    New York University

Any eligible member of SAA may also be placed on the ballot by submitting a petition signed by fifty individual members; petitions must be received in the SAA office by February 10, 2022.

The online ballot will be administered by SAA's election service provider, Survey & Ballot Systems. The ballot will be open from March 7 through March 25.