Archival Repatriation Committee To Begin Work

October 17, 2022—Eight SAA members were appointed by SAA President Terry Baxter to serve on the new Archival Repatriation Committee:

  • Ricardo Punzalan (co-chair), University of Michigan School of Information;
  • Jaime Arsenault (co-chair), White Earth Band of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe; 
  • Vina Begay, Arizona State University;
  • Forget Chaterera-Zambuko, Sorbonne University Abu Dhabi;
  • Jacob Savory, Simmons University; 
  • Kevin Schlottman, Columbia University, Rare Book and Manuscript Library;
  • Melissa Stoner, University of California, Berkeley; and
  • Diana Marsh*, University of Maryland College of Information Studies.

SAA is grateful for the overwhelming response received by the call for volunteers. The committee, which will now begin its work, was established by the SAA Council in May to ensure that the organization's services, activities, policies, communications, and products support the goal of supporting archivists in repatriating and receiving archival materials. It coordinates with various SAA entities, external organizations, and originating communities and monitors, evaluates, advocates for, and reports on matters relating to the repatriation of archival materials. Learn more about the committee here


*Immediate past chair of the Native American Archives Section.