2021 SAA Election Results

April 26, 2021—The results of SAA's 2021 election are in! The following individuals have been elected to serve:

  • Terry Baxter (Multnomah County Archives) has been elected SAA Vice President/President-Elect. He begins his one-year term this August and will become SAA's 77th president in 2022–2023.
  • Sharmila Bhatia (National Archives and Records Administration) has been elected to a three-year term (2021-2024) as SAA Treasurer.
  • Jasmine Jones (University of California, Los Angeles), Dominique Luster (The Luster Company), and Tonia Sutherland (University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa) have been elected to the SAA Council for three-year terms beginning this August (2021–2024).
  • The 2022 Nominating Committee will consist of Alison Clemens (Yale University Library), Angel Diaz (University of California, Santa Barbara), and Dave J. Moore (Carhartt). As the individual who received the most votes, Diaz will serve as chair of the Committee. In addition, the Nominating Committee includes two third-year Council members who will be selected by the Council at its May 2021 meeting. 

SAA is grateful to all of the individuals who put their names forward for the 2021 ballot as well as to the 2021 Nominating Committee for their service: Helen Kim (chair), Itza Carbajal, Valencia Johnson, and Council members Petrina Jackson and Ricardo Punzalan.

And thanks to the many members who voted in this election! We achieved a participation rate of nearly 18 percent.

It's never too early to submit names of prospective candidates for next year's election. Click here.