SAA Foundation Board Adopts Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws, Awards $30,425 for Education and Publications Development

At its May 2011 meeting, the Society of American Archivists Foundation Board of Directors approved a motion to adopt Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws and to take "all measures necessary to cause the existing Society of American Archivists Foundation, an unincorporated association, to be established as an Illinois not-for-profit corporation…." The Foundation will remain a 501(c)(3) organization; consistent with that designation, it "shall operate to support and benefit the Corporate Member and the achievement of any charitable and educational purposes thereof." SAA is the sole "corporate member."

The Board of Directors will take a new form upon filing of the legal papers. The Board will comprise 11 members, including the four individuals who serve on the SAA Executive Committee, the immediate past president of SAA, and six directors selected by the corporate member (i.e., SAA). The SAA executive director and director of finance and administration serve as ex officio, nonvoting members of the Board.

During its meeting, the Foundation Board awarded grants to SAA for the following purposes:

  • $30,425 from the Linda Henry Fund to support development of the Digital Archives Specialist curriculum and research and development of the next iteration of SAA’s Archival Fundamentals Series.
  • $5,000 from the Mosaic Fund to support one minority student scholarship in FY 2012.
  • $3,350 from the Margaret Cross Norton Fund to support SAA representation at the International Council on Archives’ Section on Professional Associations quadrennial meeting in Edinburgh, Scotland, in September 2011.