Emmett Leahy Award Nominations Sought

Emmett Leahy Award Committee
Christine Ardern, Eugenia Brumm, Charles Dollar (Chair), Luciana Duranti, John McDonald, Bruce Miller, John Phillips, Mary Robek, and Anne Thurston

The Emmett Leahy Award Committee is pleased to announce that nominations are being accepted for the 2008 Emmett Leahy Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Information and Records Management Profession.

The Emmett Leahy Award recognizes an individual whose outstanding contributions have had a major impact on the information and records management profession. Established in 1967, this award honors the spirit of innovation, dedication, and excellence in records and information management of Emmett Leahy, an icon in the development of the lifecycle approach to managing records and information.

The Emmett Leahy Award, which is not formally affiliated with any profession or professional association, is presented during the ARMA International Annual Conference. Anne Thurston, the 2007 Emmett Leahy Award recipient, typifies the outstanding contributions to the information and records management profession that are associated with the Emmett Leahy Award. Additional information on Emmett Leahy, the Emmett Leahy Award selection criteria, Anne Thurston, and previous recipients is available at http://www.leahyaward.com.

Any individual whose contributions to information and records management meet the criteria for the Leahy Award is eligible to be nominated. A nominee does not have to be a Certified Records Manager, a member of a professional organization, or reside in North America. Previous recipients include records and information users, academics, archivists, records managers, information technology specialists, and consultants. The Emmett Leahy Award Committee does not accept posthumous nominations.

A nomination letter providing contact information for the individual along with a brief description of his/her impact on the records and information management profession should be sent to Charles Dollar at thecdollar@cs.com by February 1, 2008. The 2008 Emmett Leahy Award Committee, which consists of the previous ten recipients, will review the nominations and select six to eight finalists who will be invited to submit a formal application by May 1, 2008. The Committee will review these formal applications and select the individual whose contributions have had a major impact on the records management and information profession.

The Emmett Leahy Award Committee will present the award to the 2008 Emmett Leahy Award winner at the Annual Business Meeting of the Institute of Certified Records Managers held in conjunction with the 53rd Annual ARMA International Conference in Las Vegas, NV on October 20-23, 2008.