Call for Candidates: 2023-2025 EAS Section Leadership

The Encoded Archival Standards (EAS) Section is seeking candidates for three positions:

  • One co-chair for a two-year term (2023-2025) -- first year as junior co-chair and second year as senior co-chair
  • Two Steering Committee members for a two-year term (2023-2025)

We welcome early career candidates, as well as more seasoned archivists, including those who have held EAS Section leadership positions in the past. The time commitment for Steering Committee members is roughly 2-5 hours per month, and for the co-chair, 2-5 hours per month for the first year, and about 10-15 hours per month for the second year. Please feel free to email current co-chairs Irene Gates ( and Kelly Revak ( with any questions regarding the nominations/election process or the current and anticipated activities of the Section. 

If interested, please submit the following by Friday, May 26, 2023, to

  • Candidate name
  • Job title and institution
  • Bio and candidate statement (1-2 paragraphs) describing your background and motivations for serving

Nominees must be current members of the Society of American Archivists to be considered.

Sincerely, the leadership of the EAS Section:

Irene Gates, Senior Co-Chair
Kelly Revak, Junior Co-Chair
Michele Combs, Betts Coup and James Truitt, Steering Committee members