SAA Election 2011

Fourteen candidates vying for three different offices are slated for SAA’s 2011 election. Fynnette Eaton (Eaton Consulting) and Jackie Dooley (OCLC Research) will square off in the vice president/president-elect race. The candidate elected vice president will serve a one-year term beginning in August 2011 and will then become SAA’s 68th president in 2012–2013. There are three available seats on the Council. Those elected will serve three-year terms beginning in August and running through the SAA Annual Meeting in August 2014. The three candidates elected to the 2012 Nominating Committee will serve one-year terms beginning immediately.

To learn more about the candidates, click on their names in the column at right.

All candidates have been asked to respond to a question regarding their potential position. This year those questions are:

Vice President / President-Elect: Describe how SAA’s draft “Core Values of Archivists” fits with your vision for the Society and how you would implement that vision.

Council: SAA has developed three strategic initiatives: technology, diversity, and public awareness/advocacy. If elected to Council, how will you work with SAA groups and members to move these forward?

Nominating Committee: As SAA celebrates its 75th Anniversary, what does it mean to be a SAA leader in the 21st century?

These questions were developed by SAA’s 2011 Nominating Committee: Chair María R. Estorino (University of Miami Libraries), Mark Shelstad (The University of Texas at San Antonio), Tamar Evangelestia-Dougherty (University of Chicago), and Council members Tom Hyry (UCLA), and Rosalye Settles (U.S. Department of the Treasury).

Any eligible member of SAA can be placed on the ballot by submitting a petition signed by 50 individual members. Petitions must be received at SAA Headquarters in Chicago by February 10, 2011. Voters may also write in candidates on the ballot.

Voter Eligibility and Access

SAA members can cast their votes online from March 11 through April 11. This is the third year that SAA is partnering with VoteNet Solutions, a leading provider of secure online voting software for nonprofit associations. For voting members who do not have Internet access, a paper ballot will be provided upon request to the SAA Service Center.

Please note the following:

  • All individual members, student members, and primary contacts of institutional members who are in good standing on February 28, 2011, will be eligible to vote in the 2011 Election. Members who join on or after March 1, 2011, will be eligible to vote in the 2012 Election.
  • SAA staff will export and upload voter data to the online ballot system during the first week of March. Voters will be able to access their online ballot between March 11 and April 11, 2011, via their SAA username and password as recorded in the SAA database at the time of the data export.
  • Members are strongly encouraged to visit and log in to the SAA website to verify access to the system. If you do not know your login information, you may click on the specified link on that page to retrieve it via email. If you have any difficulty, please call us toll-free at 1-866-722-7858 for further assistance.
  • If you wish to change your username and password for the purposes of the SAA Election, you must do so prior to 5:00 p.m. CST on Monday, February 28, 2011.

Slate of Candidates

The Nominating Committee has slated the following SAA members as candidates for office in the 2011 election:

Vice President/President-Elect


Nominating Committee