ARL/SAA Mosaic Program

May 2021--The ARL/SAA Mosaic Program was established in 2013 with generous funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, was extended twice, and ended in 2021. The information provided below captures the context of the program as well as the names of the individuals who participated in it.  

The ARL/Society of American Archivists (SAA) Mosaic Program, established in 2013 and recently awarded a grant by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) to extend the program for three years, promotes much-needed diversification of the archives and special collections professional workforce by providing financial support, practical work experience, mentoring, career placement assistance, and leadership development to emerging professionals from traditionally underrepresented racial and ethnic minority groups. The program seeks to attract and retain individuals who demonstrate excellent potential for scholastic and personal achievement and who manifest a commitment both to the archives and special collections profession and to advancing diversity concerns within it. 

The application process for this award is separate from those of other SAA awards. Please see the ARL/SAA Mosaic Program website for details.

Please note: Applicants may participate in only one SAA or ARL scholarship or travel award opportunity per recruitment cycle (the year in which the award is made). Students may apply for any and all programs for which they are eligible. Those who accept placement in the ARL/SAA Mosaic Program forfeit eligibility to receive other SAA or ARL scholarship and award funding, such as SAA's Pinkett, Peterson, and Holmes travel awards, the SAA Mosaic Scholarship, the Josephine Forman Scholarship, the F. Gerald and Elsie Ham Scholarship, the ARL Initiative to Recruit a Diverse Workforce, and other awards. Please contact the ARL program officer for diversity and leadership with any questions.

ARL/SAA Mosaic Program Fellows:

2018-2020: Carolina Meneses, Tomoko Shida, Jasmine Sykes-Kunk

2017-2019: Nadia Clifton, Sandra Delaney, Julie Park, Ashlynn Prasad

2016-2018: Itza Carbajal, Evelyn Cox, Erin Glasco

2016-2017: Jane'a Johnson, Michelle Peralta, Ayoola White

2015-2017: Mohamed Haian Abdirahman, Maria Fernandez, JoyEllen Freeman, Joyce Gabiola, Hannivett Nabahe, and Crystal D. Paull

2014-2016: Micha Broadnax, Joanna Chen, Adriana Flores, Harvey Long, and Sara Powell

2013-2015: Lauren Gaylord, Yvonne Ivey, Daniel Johnson, Karen Karyadi, Annie Tang


Funding for this program provided by
ARL member libraries, SAA, and