Archival Compensation Task Force To Begin Work

March 23, 2020—Eight SAA members were appointed by Vice President/President-Elect Rachel Vagts to serve on the new Archival Compensation Task Force:

  • Greta Pittenger (chair), National Public Radio
  • Stephanie Bayless, National Archives at San Francisco
  • Mike Bullington, McDonald’s Corporation
  • Elena Colón-Marrero, Computer History Museum
  • Jennifer Kinniff, Loyola Notre Dame Library
  • Elizabeth Hawley, University of Florida
  • David Kay, Digital Archivy Inc.
  • Maria Leighton, College of Southern Maryland

SAA is grateful for the overwhelming response received by the call for volunteers. The task force, which will begin work now, was established by the SAA Council in December to 1) identify issues related to archival compensation, including benefits, salary negotiations, working conditions, etc.; 2) study and evaluate archival compensation in its entirety using past, current, and new data generated on the subject; 3) create and disseminate an archival compensation survey to SAA members; and 4) explore the feasibility of creating a standing body within SAA to liaise and communicate with non-archival entities (such as O-Net, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Regulatory Affairs Professionals Society, and others) to ensure that SAA continues advocacy efforts and activities, including research and documentation pertaining to these groups.  

The task force will submit a final report and recommendations to the Council by January 2022. Learn more by visiting the task force description and charge.

1 Comment(s) to the "Archival Compensation Task Force To Begin Work"
Appliance says:

Such an awesome post. Keep us updated! house cleaning marietta ga