UPDATE: 2020 SAA Election

December 20, 2019—A recent change has been made to the 2020 SAA election ballot. Due to unforeseen circumstances, candidate for Nominating Committee Esther Hidalgo has chosen to step out of the election.

The Nominating Committee has now added Itza A. Carbajal (The University of Texas at Austin LLILAS Benson) to the slate for the 2021 Nominating Committee. See the new, complete slate for the 2020 election below. Information about each candidate will be posted to the SAA website in February.

Vice President/President-Elect

  • Courtney Chartier 
    Emory University
  • Joyce Gabiola 


  • Janet Carleton 
    Ohio University
  • Adriana P. Cuervo 
    Rutgers University
  • Stephen R. Curley 
    National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition
  • Derek T. Mosley 
    Auburn Avenue Research Library on African American Culture and History
  • Rachel E. Winston 
    The University of Texas at Austin
  • Katherine Wisser 
    Simmons University School of Library and Information Science

Nominating Committee

  • Michael Barera 
    The University of Texas at Arlington
  • Itza A. Carbajal
    The University of Texas at Austin LLILAS Benson
  • Raquel Flores-Clemons 
    Chicago State University
  • Valencia L. Johnson 
    Princeton University Library
  • Helen Kim 
    Getty Research Institute
  • Karen Trivette 
    Fashion Institute of Technology—State University of New York

Any eligible member of SAA may also be placed on the ballot by submitting a petition signed by fifty individual members; petitions must be received in the SAA office by February 10, 2020.

The online ballot will be administered by SAA's new election service provider, Survey & Ballot Systems, in March.