Ballot Set for 2020 SAA Election

The following candidates are slated for SAA's 2020 ballot. Information about each candidate will be posted to the SAA website in February.

Vice President/President-Elect

  • Courtney Chartier 
    Emory University
  • Joyce Gabiola 


  • Janet Carleton 
    Ohio University
  • Adriana P. Cuervo 
    Rutgers University
  • Stephen R. Curley 
    National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition
  • Derek Mosley 
    Auburn Avenue Research Library on African American Culture and History
  • Rachel E. Winston 
    The University of Texas at Austin
  • Katherine Wisser 
    Simmons University School of Library and Information Science

Nominating Committee

  • Michael Barera 
    The University of Texas at Arlington
  • Raquel Flores-Clemons 
    Chicago State University
  • Esther Hidalgo 
    National Archives and Records Administration
  • Valencia L. Johnson 
    Princeton University Library
  • Helen Kim 
    Getty Research Institute
  • Karen Trivette 
    Fashion Institute of Technology—State University of New York

Any eligible member of SAA may also be placed on the ballot by submitting a petition signed by fifty individual members; petitions must be received in the SAA office by February 10, 2020.

The online ballot will be administered by SAA's new election service provider, Survey & Ballot Systems, in March.