2019 SAA Election Results

SAA's 2019 ballot featured fourteen candidates vying for three offices: Vice President/President-Elect, Council, and Nominating Committee. Elected to serve are:

  • Rachel Vagts, Berea College, has been elected SAA Vice President/President-Elect. She begins her one-year term this August and will become SAA's 75th president in 2020-2021.
  • Eric Chin (NBCUniversal), Mario Ramirez (Indiana University Bloomington), and Meg Tuomala (Gates Archive) have been elected to the SAA Council for three-year terms (2019-2022).
  • The 2020 Nominating Committee will comprise Lae'l Hughes-Watkins (University of Maryland), Daria Labinsky (Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum), Joshua Youngblood (University of Arkansas Libraries), and two third-year Council members to be selected by the Council at its May 2019 meeting. As the individual who received the most votes, Hughes-Watkins will serve as chair of the Nominating Committee. 

SAA is grateful to the 2019 Nominating Committee—Dominque Luster (chair), Jasmine Jones, Daniel Noonan, and Council members Courtney Chartier and Bertram Lyons—for their service and to all those individuals who put their names forward for the 2019 ballot.

And thanks to the many members who voted in this election. We achieved a participation rate of nearly 23 percent!

It's never too early to submit names of prospective candidates for next year's election. Click here.