SAA 2017 Election Results

SAA's 2017 ballot featured fourteen candidates vying for three offices: Vice President/President-Elect, Council (three-year term), and Nominating Committee. Elected to serve are:

  • Meredith Evans, Jimmy Carter Presidential Library, has been elected SAA Vice President/President-Elect. She begins her one-year term this July and will become SAA's 74th president in 2018-2019.
  • Steven Booth (Barack Obama Presidential Library), Brenda Gunn (The University of Texas at Austin), and Audra Eagle Yun (University of California, Irvine) have been elected to the SAA Council for three-year terms (2017-2020).
  • The 2018 Nominating Committee will comprise Elvia Arroyo-Ramirez (Princeton University), Aaisha Haykal (College of Charleston), Stacie Williams (Case Western Reserve University), and two third-year Council members to be selected by the Council at its May 2017 meeting. As the individual who received the most votes, Williams will serve as chair of the Nominating Committee. 

SAA is grateful to the 2017 Nominating Committee—Holly Smith (Chair), Melissa Gonzales, Pam Hackbart-Dean, Michelle Light, and T-Kay Sangwand—for their service and to all those individuals who put their names forward for the 2017 ballot.

And thanks to the many members who voted in this election. We achieved a participation rate of nearly 19 percent!

It's never too early to submit names of prospective candidates for next year's election. Click here.