2015 SAA Election Results

SAA’s 2015 ballot featured sixteen candidates vying for four offices: Vice President/President-Elect, Treasurer, Council, and Nominating Committee. Elected to serve are:

  • Nancy McGovern, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been elected SAA Vice President/President-Elect. She begins her one-year term this August and will become SAA’s 72nd president in 2016–2017.
  • Cheryl Stadel-Bevans, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of the Inspector General, has been elected to a three-year term (2015–2018) as SAA Treasurer.
  • Amy Cooper Cary (Marquette University), Bergis Jules (University of California, Riverside), and Kris Kiesling (University of Minnesota) have been elected to the SAA Council for three-year terms (2015–2018).
  • The 2016 Nominating Committee will comprise Krystal Appiah (Library Company of Philadelphia), Derek Mosley (Atlanta University Center), Audra Eagle Yun (University of California, Irvine), and two third-year Council members selected by the Council at its May 2015 meeting. Appiah will serve as chair of the Nominating Committee.

SAA is grateful to the 2015 Nominating Committee members for their service and to all those individuals who put their names forward for the 2015 ballot.

And thanks to the many members who voted in this election—we achieved a participation rate of nearly 25 percent!