SAA and NARA Present: A Conversation Between SAA President Helen Wong Smith and Archivist of the United States Dr. Colleen Shogan

October 2, 2023—Join Society of American Archivists President Helen Wong Smith on October 17 at 12:00 p.m. CT* for a conversation with Archivist of the United States Colleen Shogan about the value of archives and the importance of the archivists and records managers who care for them. Their conversation will be followed by a brief Q&A.

*An earlier version of this page mistakenly listed the time as 1:00 p.m. CT. The time has been corrected.

RSVP is required for Zoom security. This event will be recorded and shared afterward.


Helen Wong Smith is the 78th President of the Society of American Archivists. She is the archivist for University Records at the University of Hawai’i (UH) at Mānoa. She has over 35 years of experience in library and archival collections in Hawai’i and has held numerous positions, including Hawaiian Collection Librarian at UH Hilo, lead archivist for the Hawai’i Volcanoes National Park and NPS’ Pacific Island Network, and Librarian/Archivist for the State Historic Preservation Division. In addition to her work with SAA, she has also been elected president of the Hawaiian Library Association, Hawaiian Historical Society, and twice of the Association of Hawai’i Archivists. Wong Smith was named a Distinguished Fellow of the Society of American Archivists in 2016.

Dr. Colleen Shogan became the 11th Archivist of the United States in May 2023. Previously, Dr. Shogan served as Senior Vice President and Director of the David M. Rubenstein Center at the White House Historical Association. She has worked in the United States Senate and as a senior executive at the Library of Congress. Dr. Shogan was the Vice Chair of the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission and the Chair of the Board of Directors at the Women’s Suffrage National Monument Foundation. She taught at Georgetown University in the Government Department and moderated seminars for the Aspen Institute. She is a previous President of the National Capital Area Political Science Association and served on the American Political Science Association Council, the governing body of the organization. Her research focuses on the American Presidency, Presidential rhetoric, women in politics, and Congress.