Crisis, Disaster, and Tragedy Response Working Group To Begin Work

December 9, 2020—Eight SAA members were appointed by Vice President/President-Elect Courtney Chartier to serve on the new Crisis, Disaster, and Tragedy Response Working Group:

  • Kara McClurken (co-chair), University of Virginia
  • Vanessa St. Oegger-Menn (co-chair), Syracuse University
  • Jennifer Coggins, Yale University Library
  • Anne Deschaine, Independent Consultant
  • Jackie Esposito, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Scott Grimwood, SSM Health Archives
  • Elizabeth James, Marshall University
  • Lori Myers-Steele, Berea College

SAA is grateful for the overwhelming response received by the call for volunteers. The working group, which will begin work now, was established by the SAA Council in September to maintain and update SAA’s Documenting in Times of Crisis: A Resource Kit; develop and provide immediate and ongoing resources and response assistance to archivists, allied cultural heritage professionals, and their communities in times of tragedies, disasters, or other crises; and build partnerships with organizations focused on relief efforts and cultural stewardship and preservation. Learn more about the working group here.