Ballot Set for 2019 SAA Election

The following candidates are slated for SAA's 2019 ballot. Information about each candidate will be posted to the SAA website in February.

Vice President/President-Elect

  • Margery Sly - Temple University Libraries
  • Rachel VagtsBerea College

Council (Three-year term)

  • Janet Bishop University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • Eric Chin - NBCUniversal
  • Talya Cooper - The Intercept
  • Andrea Jackson Black Metropolis Research Consortium
  • Jessica Lacher-Feldman - University of Rochester
  • Mario Ramirez Indiana University Bloomington

Nominating Committee

  • Lae'l Hughes-Watkins Kent State University
  • Daria Labinsky - Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum
  • Nicole Laflamme - The J M Smucker Company
  • Deborah Richards Mount Holyoke College
  • Ashley Stevens Historic Ford Estates
  • Joshua YoungbloodUniversity of Arkansas Libraries


Any eligible member of SAA may also be placed on the ballot by submitting a petition signed by fifty individual members; petitions must be received in the SAA office by February 10, 2019.

The online ballot will be administered by VoteNet Solutions in mid-February. 

Please note:

  • SAA staff will export and upload voter data to the online ballot system during the first week of February. Voters will be able to access their online ballot between February 19 and March 9, 2019, via their SAA username and password as recorded in the SAA database at the time of the data export.