2018 SAA Election Results

SAA's 2018 ballot featured sixteen candidates vying for four offices: Vice President/President-Elect, Treasurer, Council, and Nominating Committee. Elected to serve are:

  • Michelle Light, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, has been elected SAA Vice President/President-Elect. She begins her one-year term this August and will become SAA's 75th president in 2019-2020.
  • Amy Fitch, Rockefeller Archive Center, has been elected to a three-year term (2018-2021) as SAA Treasurer.
  • Melissa Gonzales (Museum of Fine Arts, Houston), Petrina Jackson (Iowa State University), and Ricardo Punzalan (University of Maryland, College Park) have been elected to the SAA Council for three-year terms (2018-2021).
  • The 2019 Nominating Committee will comprise Jasmine Jones (University of California, Los Angeles), Dominique Luster (Carnegie Museum of Art), Daniel Noonan (The Ohio State University), and two third-year Council members to be selected by the Council at its May 2018 meeting. As the individual who received the most votes, Luster will serve as chair of the Nominating Committee. 

SAA is grateful to the 2018 Nominating Committee—Stacie Williams (chair), Elvia Arroyo-Ramirez, Aaisha Haykal, and Council members Amy Cooper Cary and Bergis Jules—for their service and to all those individuals who put their names forward for the 2018 ballot.

And thanks to the many members who voted in this election. We achieved a participation rate of nearly 18 percent!

It's never too early to submit names of prospective candidates for next year's election. Click here.