2017 Fellows and Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2017 recipients of SAA awards and scholarships! A ceremony honoring their achievements will be held on Wednesday, July 26, during ARCHIVES 2017 in Portland, Oregon. More details to come.

Contributions to the Archival Profession

Fellows of SAA: Robin Chandler (Archives Consultant), Brenda Gunn (University of Texas at Austin), Pamela Hackbart-Dean (Southern Illinois University), Christopher A. Lee (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), Michele F. Pacifico (Archival Facilities Consultant), and John Slate (Dallas Municipal Archives)

Diversity Award: Texas Disability History Collection at the University of Texas at Arlington Libraries AND Tretter Collection in Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies at the University of Minnesota Libraries

Sister M. Claude Lane, O.P. Memorial Award: Wesley W. Wilson (Roy O. West Library, DePauw University)

Emerging Leader Award: Natalie Baur (Biblioteca Daniel Cosío Villegas, El Colegio de México)


J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award: Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI)

Philip M. Hamer - Elizabeth Hamer Kegan Award: The Center for Home Movies

Writing and Publishing

C.F.W. Coker Award: K.J. Rawson, Digital Transgender Archive, College of the Holy Cross

Theodore Calvin Pease Award: “Truth and Reconciliation: Archivists as Reparations Activists” by Anna Robinson-Sweet (Simmons College School of Library and Information Science)

Waldo Gifford Leland Award: Building Trustworthy Digital Repositories: Theory and Implementation by Phil Bantin (Rowman and Littlefield, 2016) 

Preservation Publication Award: Waters Rising: Letters from Florence by Shelia Waters (The Legacy Press, 2016)

Fellows’ Ernst Posner Award: “To Suddenly Discover Yourself Existing: Uncovering the Impact of Community Archives” by Michelle Caswell, Marika Cifor, and Mario H. Ramirez in The American Archivist Vol 79.1 (Spring/Summer 2016)

Travel Awards

Donald Peterson Student Travel Award: Elizabeth Vallen (University of California, Merced)

Harold T. Pinkett Minority Student Award: NaVosha Copeland (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) and Chido Muchemwa (University of Texas at Austin)

Student Scholarships

Mosaic Scholarship: Jessica Tai and Sabrina Ponce (University of California, Los Angeles)

F. Gerald Ham and Elsie Ham Scholarship: Alexandra M. Wilder (Drexel University)

Josephine Forman Scholarship: Jeannie Chen (University of California, Los Angeles)

* * * *

The Distinguished Service Award, Spotlight Award, Archival Innovator Award, and Oliver Wendell Holmes Travel Award received no nominations this year.

1 Comment(s) to the "2017 Fellows and Award Winners"
Glyade says:
Thank you for this info!

Thank you for this info! - Eugene impounding