2014 Election Results

SAA’s 2014 ballot featured 14 candidates vying for three offices:  Vice President/President-Elect, Council, and Nominating Committee.  The winners are:

  • Dennis Meissner, Minnesota Historical Society, has been elected SAA Vice President/President-Elect. He begins his one year term this August and will become SAA’s 71st president in 2015-2016.
  • Pam Hackbart-Dean (Southern Illinois University-Carbondale), James Roth (John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum), and Rachel Vagts (Berea College) have been elected to the SAA Council for three-year terms (2014-2017).
  • The 2015 Nominating Committee will comprise Cristela Garcia-Spitz (University of California, San Diego), Erin O’Meara (Gates Archive), Eira Tansey (University of Cincinnati), and two third-year Council members selected by the Council at its May 2014 meeting. O’Meara will serve as chair of the Nominating Committee.

SAA is grateful to the 2014 Nominating Committee members for their service and to all those individuals who put their names forward for the 2014 ballot.