Slate of Candidates for 2004

Elizabeth Adkins and Richard Pearce-Moses Vie for Presidency

The Nominating Committee of the Society of American Archivists has
proposed the following slate of candidates for election in 2004.


Elizabeth Adkins, Ford Motor Company Archives
Richard Pearce-Moses, Arizona State Library & Archives


Marisa Bourgoin, Corcoran Gallery of Art
Mark Duffy, Archives of the Episcopal Church USA
Aimee Felker, National Archives and Records Administration
Connell Gallagher, University of Vermont
Peter Gottlieb, State Historical Society of Wisconsin
Geoffrey Huth, New York State Archives


Laurie Baty, U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum
James Cartwright, University of Hawaii
Karen Jean Hunt, Duke University
Stephen Novak, Columbia University
Scott Schwartz, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Elisabeth Wittman, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

Individual members of SAA will vote for a vice president/president-elect, three Council members, and three Nominating Committee members. The candidate elected vice president will serve a one-year term beginning in August and then will become SAA's 61st president in 2005-06. The candidates elected to Council will serve three-year terms beginning in August and running through the August 2007 annual meeting. Those elected to the Nominating Committee will serve one-year terms.

There will be no election for treasurer this year. The current treasurer, Fynnette Eaton of the National Archives and Records Administration, is in her first year of the three-year term of office.

All candidates are required to respond to the following questions related to their prospective offices:

Vice President/President-Elect: Which issues pertaining to our cultural heritage should the president of SAA respond to and how can the president effectively represent the organization's interests to legislators, the scholarly community, the media, allied professionals, and other constituencies?

Council: SAA will soon learn more about our profession through a major national survey of archivists. How could SAA use this information to strengthen both the profession and its services to members?

Nominating Committee: Please explain how you would participate in developing a slate of candidates that is balanced geographically and also reflects the increasingly diverse nature of archival work as represented by SAA's committees, sections, and roundtables.

These questions were formulated by this year's Nominating Committee: La Nina Clayton, Taronda Spencer, Jac Treanor, and Council members Danna Bell-Russel and David Haury. Candidates' responses to the questions posed, along with biographical information, will appear in the ballot. An eligible member of SAA may also be placed on the ballot by submission of a petition signed by 50 individual members. Such petitions must be received at the SAA office by February 10, 2004. In addition, voters will have the opportunity to write in candidates on the ballot.

The 2004 ballot will be mailed to all individual members in February. If you have not received a ballot by mid-March, please contact Lee Gonzalez at the SAA office, 312/922-0140 or The deadline for returning ballots is April 5, 2004.