SAA Election 2014

Cast Your Vote Between March 13, and April 13, 2014

SAA members who are eligible to vote can cast their votes online between March 13, and April 13, 2014. Click here to cast a ballot. Use your SAA username and password to login to the eBallot system. If you do not know your login, click here to retrieve it (your information will be sent to the email address you have on file in SAA's member database). This is the sixth year that SAA is partnering with Votenet Solutions, a leading provider of secure online voting software for nonprofit associations.

Fourteen candidates vying for three different offices are slated for SAA’s 2014 ballot. The candidate elected vice president will serve a one-year term beginning in August 2014 and then will become SAA’s 71st president in 2015–2016. There are three available seats on the Council. Those elected will serve three-year terms beginning in August and running through the 2017 SAA Annual Meeting. The three candidates elected to the 2015 Nominating Committee will serve one-year terms beginning immediately.

The complete slate is listed in the box on the right; click on each candidate's name to read a brief bio along with his or her response to the questions (below) posed by this year's Nominating Committee.

Vice President/President-Elect: One of the goals of SAA’s Strategic Plan is advocating for archivists and archives. What role does SAA play in advocating for the archival profession to institutions, communities, and the American public?

Council: What are your priorities for advancing SAA’s Strategic Plan? How do we create an organization that nimbly embraces change, including changing member needs, yet is stable enough to advance the profession?

Nominating Committee: Define your vision of diverse leadership for SAA and describe how you would select candidates to make this vision a reality.

These questions were developed by SAA’s 2014 Nominating Committee: Chair Amy Schindler, Jennifer Johnson, Lori Lindberg, and Council members Beth Kaplan and Terry Baxter.

Any eligible member of SAA may also be placed on the ballot by submitting a petition signed by fifty individual members; petitions must be received at the SAA office in Chicago by February 10, 2014.

The online ballot will be administered by VoteNet Solutions.

Please note the following:

  • All full individual members, student members, and primary contacts of institutional members who are in good standing on February 28, 2014, will be eligible to vote in the 2014 Election. Members who join on or after March 1, 2014, will be eligible to vote in the 2015 Election.
  • SAA staff will export and upload voter data to the online ballot system during the first week of March. Voters will be able to access their online ballot between March 13 and April 13, 2014, via their SAA username and password as recorded in the SAA database at the time of the data export.
  • Members are strongly encouraged to visit and log in to the SAA website to verify access to the system. If you do not know your login information, you may click on the specified link on that page to retrieve it via email. If you have any difficulty, please call us toll-free within the US at 866-722-7858 or 312-606-0722 for further assistance.
  • If you wish to change your username and password for the purposes of the SAA Election, you must do so prior to 5:00 p.m. CST on February 28, 2014.



It's never too early to submit names of prospective candidates for next year's election. Click here.

Slate of Candidates

The Nominating Committee has slated the following SAA members as candidates for office in the 2014 election:

Vice President/President-Elect

Scott Cline
City of Seattle
Dennis Meissner
Minnesota Historical Society


Doug Boyd
University of Kentucky
Pam Hackbart-Dean
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
James Roth
John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum
Edward “Ted” Ryan
The Coca-Cola Company
John Slate
City of Dallas
Rachel Vagts
Luther College

Nominating Committee

Cristela Garcia-Spitz
University of California, San Diego
Jim Gerencser
Dickinson College
Erik Moore
University of Minnesota
Erin O’Meara
Gates Archive
Jill Severn
University of Georgia
Eira Tansey
University of Cincinnati