Theodore Calvin Pease Award

Purpose and Criteria for Selection:

Created in 1987 and modified in 2007 and 2012, this award recognizes superior writing achievements by students of archival studies. Entries are judged on innovation, scholarship, pertinence, and clarity of writing. Papers examining major trends and issues in the archives profession are preferred.


Eligible entries are written by students enrolled in archival studies classes at either the master’s or doctoral level. A faculty member or instructor associated with the archival studies program must submit the entry to verify that the student paper was written within the context of an archival studies program and completed during the preceding calendar year. A faculty member or instructor in an archival studies program may submit one entry per award cycle. There is no cap on the number of papers than can be submitted by a school or program, provided no individual faculty member submits more than one paper.

Entries should be unpublished manuscripts of 5,000–8,000 words, must include an abstract, and should conform to the stylistic guidelines described in the editorial policy of The American Archivist. Submit only the title with the paper. The name of the author, the program, or the faculty member or instructor must not appear on the manuscript.

Sponsor and Funding:

The Society of American Archivists Foundation, in honor of Theodore Calvin Pease, the first editor of The American Archivist.


A certificate and cash prize of $250. The winning manuscript, after going through the editorial process with the editor of The American Archivist, will be published in The American Archivist.

First Awarded:


Selection Committee:

Papers will be judged in a blind review by the Pease Subcommittee of the SAA Awards Committee.  The subcommittee consists of the current editor of The American Archivist, the vice chair of the Committee on Education, and a member of the Society of American Archivists with experience in archival research and literature appointed annually by the president-elect to serve a one-year term. The current editor of The American Archivist serves as the chair of the subcommittee and shall present the award. The current editor of The American Archivist also edits the manuscript and leads the student through the editorial process in preparation for publication.

Submission Deadline and Nomination Form:

All nominations shall be submitted to SAA by February 28 of each year.  CLICK HERE to download the application form.

Theodore Calvin Pease Award Recipients:

1988:   Greg Kinney (University of Michigan), "The Records of Land District Offices of the U.S. General Land Office for the States of the Northwest Territory"

1989:   Maureen A. Jung (California State University, Sacramento), "Documenting 19th-Century Quartz Mining in Northern California"

1990:   Luke J. Gilliland-Swetland (University of Michigan), "The Provenance of a Profession: The Permanence of the Public Archives and Historical Manuscripts Traditions in American Archival History"

1991:   Not awarded

1992:   Roy Schaeffer (University of British Columbia), "Transcendent Concepts: Power, Appraisal, and the Archivist as Social Context"

1993:   Not awarded

1994:   Anke Voss-Hubbard (State University of New York at Albany), "No Documents--No History: Mary Ritter Beard and the Early History of Women's Archives"

1995:   Judith Panitch (State University of New York at Albany), "Liberty, Equality, Posterity?: Some Archival Lessons from the Case of the French Revolution"

1996:   Shauna McRanor (University of British Columbia), "A Critical Analysis of Intrinsic Value"

1997:   Karen Collins (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), "Providing Subject Access to Images: A Study of User Queries"

1998:   Not awarded

1999:   Kathleen Feeney (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), "Retrieval of Archival Finding Aids Using World Wide Web Search Engines"

2000:   Kristin E. Martin (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), "Analysis of Remote Reference Correspondence at a Large Academic Manuscripts Collection"

2001:   James M. Roth (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), "Serving Up EAD: An Exploratory Study on the Deployment and Utilization of Encoded Archival Description Finding Aids"

2002:   Reto Tschan (University of British Columbia), "A Comparison of Jenkinson and Schellenberg on Appraisal"

2003:   Glenn Dingwall (University of British Columbia), "Trusting Archivists: The Role of Archival Ethics Codes in Establishing Public Faith"

2004:   Catherine O'Sullivan (New York University), "Diaries, Online Diaries, and the Future Loss to Archives; or Blogs and the Blogging Bloggers Who Blog Them"

2005:   Ian Craig Breaden (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), “Sound Practices: Online Audio Exhibits and the Culture Heritage Archive”

2006:   Ben Blake (University of Pittsburgh), "A Call for a New American Labor Archives: History, Theory, Methodology and Practice"

2007:   Elizabeth Snowden (Middle Tennessee State University), "Our Archives, Our Selves: Documentation Strategy and the Re-Appraisal of Professional Identity"

2008:   Mary Samouelian (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), "Embracing Web 2.0: Archives and the Newest Generation of Web Applications"

2009:   Kathleen Fear (University of Michigan School of Information), "User Understanding of Metadata in Digital Image Collections"

2010:   Emily Monks-Leeson (University of Toronto), "Archives on the Internet: Representing Contexts and Provenance from Repository to Website

2011:  Lora J. Davis (University of Wisconsin—Milwaukee), "Providing Virtual Services to All: A Mixed-Method Analysis of the Web Site Accessibility of Philadelphia Area Consortium of Special Collections Libraries (PACSCL) Member Repositories"

2012:   Pam Mayer (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, School of Information and Library Science), "Like a Box of Chocolates: A Case Study of User-Contributed Content at Footnote"

2013:   Alex H. Poole (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, School of Information and Library Science), "The Strange Career of Jim Crow Archives"

2014:   Joshua D. Hager (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, School of Information and Library Science), "To Like or Not to Like: Understanding and Maximizing the Utility of Archival Outreach on Facebook"

2015:   Paige Hohmann (University of British Columbia), “On Impartiality and Interrelatedness: Reactions to the Jenkinsonian Appraisal in the Twentieth Century”

2016:   Rachel Walton (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), “Looking for Answers: A Usability Study of Online Finding Aid Navigation”