Philip M. Hamer and Elizabeth Hamer Kegan Award

Purpose and Criteria for Selection:

Established in 1973 (and modified in 1987 and 1991), this award recognizes an archivist, editor, group of individuals, or institution that has increased public awareness of a specific body of documents through compilation, transcription, exhibition, or public presentation of archives or manuscript materials for educational, instructional, or other public purpose. Archives may include photographs, films, and visual archives. Publication may be in any medium.


Individual archivists and editors, groups of individuals, organizations.

Sponsor and Funding:

The Society of American Archivists Foundation, with the cash prize underwritten by a fund first established by Elizabeth Hamer Kegan. The award honors two SAA Fellows and past presidents. In 1963 Elizabeth Hamer Kegan was appointed Assistant Librarian of Congress, a position in which she directed information, exhibits, publications, and international visitors' programs and shepherded the American Revolution Bicentennial Program. Her late husband, Philip M. Hamer, was a historian who served successively as head of the Library, Accessions, Reference, and Records Control divisions of the National Archives, and was the first executive director of the National Historical Publications Commission. He was the author of A Guide to the Archives and Manuscripts in the United States (1961).


A certificate and a cash prize of $500.

First Awarded:


Selection Committee:

The Hamer-Kegan Award Subcommittee of the SAA Awards Committee is composed of three members of the Society of American Archivists and one of the co-chairs of the Awards Committee (ex officio). One member of the subcommittee shall be appointed each year by the SAA President-elect to serve a three-year term. The senior member of the subcommittee in years of service shall serve as chair.

Application Deadline and Nomination Form:

All nominations shall be submitted to SAA by February 28 of each year.  CLICK HERE to download the application form.

Philip M. Hamer and Elizabeth Hamer Kegan Award Recipients:

1973:   Patricia A. Clark

1974:   David W. Hirst

1975:   Harold Dean Moser

1976:   Charles F. Hobson

1977:   Dorothy Twohig

1978:   Philander D. Chase

1979:   Raymond W. Smock

1980:   Linda J. Pike

1981:   Sharon Macpherson

1982:   Mary Dix

1983:   Robert E. McCarthy

1984:   David Wilson

1985:   Claude-Ann Lopez

1986:   Not awarded

1987:   Robert E. Bailey, Elaine S. Evans

1988:   Nancy Bartlett, Kathleen Koehler

1989:   Jane Doerr

1990:   Judy Hohmann

1991:   James D. Folts, Larry Hackman, Judy Hohmann

1992:   Elaine Forman Crane, Northeastern University Press

1993:   Carl Albert Center at University of Oklahoma

1994:   American Heritage Center at University of Wyoming

1995:   New York Public Library

1996:   Julie Daniels, Judy Hohmann, Jean West

1997:   Minnesota Historical Society

1998:   Linda A. Ries

1999:   Delaware Public Archives

2000:   Jeffrey D. Marshall, A War of the People: Vermont Civil War Letters

2001:   Shelly Henley Kelly

2002:   Vermont State Archives

2003:   New York State Archives Partnership Trust

2004:   Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission

2005:   Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation

2006:  The State Library and Archives of Florida's Florida Folklife Digitization and Education Project

2007:  National Library of Medicine's Profiles in Science

2008:  Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and the CBC Digital Archives (Les archives de Radio-Canada)

2009:  Ward M. Canaday Center for Special Collections of the University of Toledo

2010:  Giza Archives at the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

2011:  March On Milwaukee Civil Rights History Project team (University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee Libraries)

2012:  Immigration History Research Center, University of Minnesota

2013:  Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project

2014:  Emma Goldman Papers Project

2015:  The Legacy Center, Drexel University College of Medicine 

2016:   South Asian American Digital Archive

2017:   The Center for Home Movies