SAA Foundation

The Society of American Archivists Foundation is the nation’s leading source of nonprofit funding dedicated to the interests of archives and archivists.  Donations to the SAA Foundation, a 501(c)(3) organization, are tax deductible.

The SAA Foundation raises money to provide resources to enhance the work of the archival community.  To that end, the SAA Foundation will support:

  • Research and reporting about the profession, its practice, and its practitioners;
  • Development of professional growth opportunities;
  • Recognition of archivists via scholarships, travel assistance, and awards;
  • Programs to enhance the performance of repositories; and
  • Efforts to persuade influential external organizations to create or promote archives.

In addition, the SAA Foundation will seek to strengthen itself by enhancing its accountability, development, and governance.

Created by the SAA Council in 2006. 
Incorporated: June 2011.
Revised by the SAA Foundation Board: August 2014.

SAA Foundation Board of Directors 

2014 Annual Report

 Minutes | Agendas and Reports

Funds that support services to archivists and the archives profession:

Margaret Cross Norton Fund: Originally established from the estate left to SAA by Margaret Cross Norton, this unrestricted fund is used to further the educational activities of the Foundation.

Linda J. Henry Fund: Originally established from the estate left to SAA by Linda J. Henry, this unrestricted fund is used to further the activities of the Foundation.

Strategic Growth Fund: Established in 2011 in honor of the Society of American Archivists' 75th Anniversary, this fund holds and manages donated funds for the purpose of supporting the strategic priorities of the SAA Foundation, including professional and public education, publications, and research.

National Disaster Recovery Fund for Archives: Established in 2005 by the Society of Southwest Archivists and the Society of American Archivists to address the stabilization and recovery needs of archival repositories affected by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, the fund has been broadened to provide grants to support recovery of archival collections from major disasters, regardless of region or repository type. To apply for an NDRFA Grant, click here.

Funds that support student scholarships and travel assistance:

F. Gerald and Elsie Ham Scholarship: Established by long-time SAA member and leader F.Gerald Ham and his wife Elsie, this fund provides graduate archival students with scholarship support in their second year of study.

Mosaic Scholarship: Promotes diversification of the American archives profession by providing financial and mentoring support to minority students pursuing graduate education in archival science.

Donald Peterson Student Scholarship Award: Provides financial assistance to students and recent graduates of archival education programs to attend SAA’s Annual Meeting.

Harold T. Pinkett Minority Student Award: Promotes increased minority participation in SAA by exposing minority students to the experience of attending national meetings and encouraging them to join SAA.

Oliver Wendell Holmes Travel Award: Enables overseas archivists who are already in the United States or Canada for training to travel to the SAA Annual Meeting.

Funds that support awards honoring special achievements in the archival enterprise:

C.F.W. Coker Award: Recognizes finding aids, finding aid systems, projects that involve innovative development in archival description, or descriptive tools that enable archivists to produce more effective finding aids.

Philip Hamer & Elizabeth Hamer-Kegan Award: Recognizes efforts to increase public awareness of manuscripts and archives through compilation, transcription, public presentation, exhibition, or publication.

Waldo Gifford Leland Award: Encourages and rewards non-periodical writing of superior excellence and usefulness in the field of archival history, theory, or practice.

Theodore Calvin Pease Award: Recognizes superior writing achievements by students in archival administration classes or engaged in formal archival internship programs.

Fellows’ Ernst Posner Award: Recognizes an outstanding essay dealing with some facet of archival administration, history, theory, and/or methodology that was published during the preceding year in The American Archivist.

Spotlight Award: Recognizes the contributions of individuals who work for the good of the profession and of archival collections, and whose work would not typically receive public recognition.


Amazon Smile

One more way to support the Foundation. If you shop on Amazon, register the SAA Foundation as your charity.