December 4, 2024

Laura Huerta Migus, Deputy Director for Museum Services, Acting Director Cyndee Landrum, Deputy Director for Library Services Institute of Museum and Library Services 955 L'Enfant Plaza North, SW, Suite 4000 Washington, D.C. 20024-2135

Dear Deputy Director Huerta Migus and Deputy Director Landrum,

We, the Presidents of the Council of State Archivists (CoSA), the National Association of Government Archives and Records Administrators (NAGARA), the Regional Archival Associations Consortium (RAAC), and the Society of American Archivists (SAA), are writing to present key recommendations for the IMLS reauthorization language aimed at enhancing the capacity and sustainability of our nation's archival institutions. Our organizations are united in our commitment to advancing the work of archives across the United States. We believe that the following recommendations will significantly benefit the archival community by reducing ambiguity in the IMLS authorization language, building inclusive planning, and recognizing the rich contributions of the archival field to the funding landscape of the IMLS.

As we understand, ALA and AAM worked to convene stakeholder meetings over recent months in order to present their recommendations to the IMLS. Though our associations attempted to participate in those conversations, our voice was absent from any significant contributions. If you have received recommendations from our sibling professions without inclusion of archives, the conversations about reauthorization are not complete. Should reauthorization proceed in the coming months, we believe our recommendations have the opportunity to benefit the broader public through integration of archival repositories within the IMLS Framework. If work towards reauthorization is delayed to a future session, we welcome the opportunity to join others in convening conversations to discuss further.

We are confident that, with your continued support, we can achieve significant advancements in the field of archives.

Sincerely,

Catheryne Popovitch

Catzne Paps

President | CoSA

Holly Dolan

President | NAGARA

Courtney Bailey

Chair | RAAC

Tomaro Taylor

Tomaro Taylor

President | SAA