Society of American Archivists Annual Membership (Business) Meeting Friday, August 17, 2018 3:15 – 4:30 pm Marriott Wardman Park (Salon 1) Washington, DC

Presiding: Tanya Zanish-Belcher, SAA President Parliamentarian: Scott Cline, CA

1. Call to Order (Tanya Zanish-Belcher)

A quorum of 100 voting members was reached and Zanish-Belcher called the meeting to order at 3:23 pm. The rules were adopted unanimously. No changes were made to the agenda.

A moment of silence was observed in remembrance of Larry Gates, retired from Hollinger Metal Edge and a long-time supporter of SAA and the archives profession.

2. Report of the Executive Director (Nancy Beaumont)

Beaumont's remarks and slides are available on the 2018 Joint Annual Meeting website.

3. Report of the Treasurer (Cheryl Stadel-Bevans)

Stadel-Bevans's remarks and slides are available on the 2018 Joint Annual Meeting website.

4. Report of the 2018 Nominating Committee (Stacie Williams)

The 2018 Nominating Committee's report is available on the 2018 Joint Annual Meeting website.

5. New Business (Tanya Zanish-Belcher)

No resolutions were brought forward.

6. Announcements / Appreciation

Zanish-Belcher presented Council resolutions honoring Fynnette Eaton for her exemplary service to the SAA Foundation; Wilda Logan for her many contributions to the profession, particularly in mentoring young archivists of color; and to the National Disaster Recovery Fund for Archives Review Committee for outstanding service over time and particularly in the wake of Hurricane Maria in 2017. Beaumont presented a Council resolution to Paul Henning and the Conference and Logistics Consultants team for 15 years of excellent service. For the full text of these Council resolutions, see the August 13, 2018, Council meeting minutes.

Zanish-Belcher acknowledged retiring Council members Amy Cooper Cary, Bergis Jules, Kris Kiesling, and Cheryl Stadel-Bevans. Incoming President Meredith Evans acknowledged Zanish-Belcher's retirement from the Council.

7. Remarks from the Incoming President (Dr. Meredith Evans)

Incoming President Dr. Meredith Evans shared brief remarks on her goals and hopes for the coming year, including strengthening SAA's advocacy efforts, promoting openness, and advancing awareness of archives and the profession.

8. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:25 pm.