## Society of American Archivists Council Meeting October 31 – Nov 1, 2023 Hybrid Meeting (Chicago, IL)

## **Annual Report: Committee on the Selection of SAA Fellows**

## Committee Members:

Steven Booth, Council Member, 2017-2020
Courtney Chartier, 76th President, 2021-2022
Angel Diaz, Steering Committee Member, Nominating Committee 2021
Rebecca Hankins, Council Member, 2006-2009
Nancy Lenoil, Council Member, 2006-2009
Selena Ortega-Chiolero, Council Member, 2023-2026
Rachel Vagts, 75th President, 2020-2021
Meredith Evans, Committee Chair, 74th President, 2018-2020

Council Representative: Krystal Appiah, Council Member, 2022-2025

A 75% favorable vote by members of the Committee on the Selection of SAA Fellows is required for election as a Fellow. Four nominees out of seven were chosen.

- February 28, 2023, Carlos Salgado, Manager, SAA Service Center welcomed the members of the 2023 Committee on the Selection of SAA Fellows. His correspondence included announcing the chair, instructions, due dates and how to access the nominations.
- March 1 Salgado announced to the committee that the Awards Program closed and provided the link and access information to the evaluation tool.
- March 22-26 all but one committee member shared their initial decisions by email.
- March 27 the committee met to discuss the nominees. One member recused themselves from voting for one nominee.
- The due date of April 1 for final selection was extended to April 7 due to technical complications.
- The April 10 meeting to discuss and finalize selections was canceled due to having agreed upon the final selections over email.
- The week of April 17 all nominators were called and emailed by the chair of the selection committee about the decisions.

- The week of May 15 all nominees were called and emailed by the chair of the selection committee about the decision. Their nominator (if they chose to be identified) and Salgado were copied on the email for administrative purposes.
- Induction statements were written and announced by the following committee member if able to attend SAA Annual meeting. They were later adapted for press releases.
  - o Jodi Allison-Bunnell (nominee), written by Angel Diaz, read by Meredith Evans
  - o Derek Mosley (nominee), written and read by Steve Booth
  - o Ricky Punzalan (nominee), written and read by Meredith Evans
  - o Rosemary Pleva Flynn (nominee), written and read by Rachel Vagt