Society of American Archivists Council Meeting October 31 – Nov 1, 2023 Hybrid Meeting (Chicago, IL)

Annual Report: Committee on Ethics and Professional Conduct (Prepared by Cliff Hight and Nikki Lynn Thomas, Co-Chairs)

For the 2022-2023 term, the Committee on Ethics and Professional Conduct (CEPC) worked on the following:

Committee Membership and General Information:

Co-chairs for this term were Cliff Hight and Nikki Lynn Thomas. Other members included Renee James (2020–2023), Celeste Brewer (2021–2024), Ashley Williams Clawson (2022–2025), Dennis Riley (mid-year appointment, 2023–2025), and Grace Muñoz (Early-Career Member, 2021–2023). Our SAA Council liaison for this term was Derek Mosley, who was fulfilling that role for a second year. For at least the past few years, the CEPC has organized its work around three areas: case studies, documentation, and outreach. During this term, each committee member contributed to at least one of these areas, as noted under the headings below.

The CEPC held six regular committee meetings during this term and had an annual meeting on July 13 that has further details below. Committee members had rotating assignments to take notes and keep time during these meetings. The CEPC used a Google Drive space to manage files and share information among the group in addition to the SAA Connect Community space.

Early-Career Member Contributions:

In 2022–2023, Grace remained the CEPC's second Early-Career Member since she was willing and able to continue serving in this capacity for a second term. In addition to her thoughtful contributions to committee discussions, she continued working with Celeste on the subcommittee for case studies in archival ethics. Grace will soon complete her service in this role and the CEPC wishes her the very best in her future endeavors. The committee anticipates having another Early-Career Member for 2023–2024.

Case Studies Subcommittee:

Celeste and Grace continued promoting opportunities for archivists to submit <u>case studies in archival ethics</u>. After redistributing the call for case studies, they spoke directly with potential authors and encouraged submissions in various settings. They also talked with committee members about other ways to encourage the creation of case studies. To date, there have been no submissions. As a result, Celeste and Grace began considering less formal ways to describe case studies such as blog posts or video call working groups. They anticipate crystallizing these ideas during the next term.

Outreach Subcommittee:

Nikki and Ashley led outreach work during the term. Renee had been involved the two previous years but was hoping to do something different during her last year. Nikki and Ashley broadened the scope from focusing on having authors talk about their works to including other outreach efforts. They created a planning document, began updating the microsite, and scheduled two events in the spring. The first event was a video call on January 24 with Lydia Tang. About 60 attended as she discussed accessibility, volunteer labor, and the Archival Workers Collective. The second event was another video call on March 23 with Chris Tanguay. With about 45 people attending, they discussed their work and involvement with labor issues in archives that include accessibility, inclusive hiring practices, contingent labor, unionization, and general labor advocacy.

Nikki also worked with Celeste to develop the annual meeting program, which ended up aligning closely with the topics of the earlier events. More details on it are below.

Documentation Subcommittee:

Renee and Dennis worked in the documentation realm during the term, with some support from Cliff with historical context. In recent years, this subcommittee has focused on improving the CEPC's footprint in SAA's archives, as well as improving the type of information on the microsite. During this term, Renee led the development of proposed revisions to the governance document that was last updated in 2014. SAA Council approved these changes at their late July meeting. Further, Dennis did a lot of work in his short tenure to make progress on improving the committee's documentation. He communicated with the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (UWM) archivist who oversees SAA's records and developed a plan for transferring digital files to fill gaps there. Finally, the CEPC discussed how to share documentation on the microsite, as well as how long it would keep the following types of information there:

- Case studies: indefinitely.
- Annual reports (linked to another page on the site): three years.

• Agendas and/or minutes/notes: three years.

The revision of the microsite did not occur this term but are slated to happen during the next term. These procedural decisions should help keep current information on the microsite while ensuring the appropriate records are preserved in the SAA records at the UWM archives.

Annual Meeting:

The CEPC annual meeting occurred virtually on Thursday, July 13, with 63 attendees at the highest point. After Nikki welcomed everyone, Cliff provided a brief report of the committee's business, which basically repeated what is in this report. Derek gave a very brief Council update, after which the meeting shifted to a <u>panel presentation</u> that was recorded. Celeste introduced the panelists, who represented the Term Labor Best Practices Working Group, and they covered different aspects of their white paper, <u>Best Practices for Archival Term Positions</u>. The panelists were:

- Laura Starratt, Senior Collections Archivist, Emory University.
- Alison Clemens, Access Strategist for Special Collections, Yale University.
- Kit Messick, Head of Special Collections Technical Services, Smith College.

After the panelists' prepared remarks, attendees were split into breakout rooms for small group discussions. After about fifteen minutes, everyone returned to the full group and reported on what stood out from the conversations with colleagues. The panelists then provided concluding remarks and the meeting ended.

Changes in Committee Membership and Leadership:

Cliff will complete his term on the committee this year, Nikki will become the senior co-chair, and Ashley will become the junior co-chair. In addition to Dennis' mid-year appointment that will run until 2025, new appointees are Haley Doty Vaden (2023–2026) and Ryan Lee (2023–2026). The CEPC will add an Early-Career Member in the near future. And, Michelle Ganz is the new SAA Council liaison for the coming term. The committee will meet soon to establish priorities and a work plan, but the group has already communicated via email that updating the microsite will be part of it.