# Society of American Archivists Foundation Board of Directors Meeting June 27, 2023 Virtual Meeting

# Foundation Committee Assignments, 2023-2024 (Prepared by Foundation & Development Manager, Astoria Edwards)

#### BACKGROUND

The Foundation Board decided at its November 2017 meeting that committee assignments would be determined at the Board's summer meeting to coincide with member turnover and election of officers.

The Foundation Board automatically assigns the following roles to the officers:

- The President serves as chair of the Grant Review Committee.
- The Vice President serves as chair of the Development Committee.
- The Treasurer serves as chair of the <u>Finance Committee</u> and as a member of the <u>NDRFA</u> <u>Grant Review Committee</u>.
- The Executive Committee member serves as chair of the Foundation Nominating Committee.

### **DISCUSSION**

Foundation Board members are asked each year to volunteer to serve on one or more committees of the Foundation. All Board members serve a one-year term in these roles and can renew their assignments indefinitely.

For the 2023-2024 term, Board members are needed for the following committees: Development Committee, Finance Committee, Grant Review Committee, Nominating Committee, and Annual Meeting Award Committee.

An excerpt from each committee description has been included below, specifying the committee selection, size, and length of term:

# 1. Development Committee

The Development Committee consists of eight members: the Foundation Board Vice-President (who serves as the chair), the Executive Director, three Board members who are appointed by the Board President, and

three individuals who are not currently serving on the Board and who are appointed by the Board President based on recommendations from Board members and others and subject to the approval of the Board. The six appointed members of the Committee serve for one-year renewable terms.

Committee members are selected on the basis of one or more of the following: fundraising experience, ties with the corporate community, expertise in obtaining grant funding, and/or expertise in outreach.

#### 2. Finance Committee

The Finance Committee consists of five members: the Foundation Treasurer (who serves as chair), the Executive Director, the Finance/Administration Director, and two Foundation Board members elected by the Board in consultation with the current Finance Committee members to determine what expertise is needed. The two elected members of the Committee serve for one-year renewable terms. There are no term limits for the elected members as long as they continue to serve on the Foundation Board.

#### 3. Grant Review Committee

The Grant Review Committee is an appointed body of the SAA Foundation Board. The Committee consists of the SAAF President (who serves as Chair) and no fewer than three additional members, one of whom may be appointed from outside the Board. Members of the Committee are appointed by the President no later than the close of the Board's annual meeting and subject to approval by the Board. The Executive Director serves *ex officio* with voice, but without vote.

# 4. Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is an appointed body of the SAA Foundation Board. The Committee consists of the SAAF Executive Committee member (who serves as Chair) and two additional members of the Board, selected by the Board no later than the close of the Board's annual meeting. The Executive Director serves *ex officio* with voice, but without vote.

# 5. Annual Meeting Award Committee

The Annual Meeting Award Committee is an appointed body of the SAA Foundation Board. The Committee consists of three Class B members and one member of the SAA Council. The SAA Council member may be one of the Foundation Board Class A members. If no Class A member volunteers to serve on the Committee, the SAA President shall appoint one Committee member from among the other Council members. Appointments are made at the board's annual meeting; appointments are for one-year terms beginning at the close of the annual meeting. The Executive Director serves *ex officio* on the committee.

#### 6. AWEF Review Committee

The committee comprises a chair and no fewer than four and no more than six additional members, including the Foundation Board Treasurer. The committee will include members who currently are or formerly were employed in contingent archival positions. The members shall be appointed by the SAA Foundation Vice President. If the initial program is extended, staggered two-year terms will be implemented.

## **RECOMMENDATIONS**

THAT Lisa Managiafico, Carli Lowe, and Hope Dunbar be appointed to serve a one-year term on the SAA Foundation Development Committee; and

THAT Carli Lowe, Gerrianne Schaad, and Elizabeth Joffrion be appointed to serve a oneyear term on the SAA Foundation Finance Committee; and

THAT Elizabeth Joffrion, Nicolette Lodico, Gerrianne Schaad, and Karen Meyer-Roux be appointed to serve a one-year term on the SAA Foundation Grant Review Committee;

THAT Nicolette Lodico, Natalie Baur, and Hope Dunbar be appointed to serve a one-year term on the SAA Foundation Nominating Committee;

THAT Karen Meyer-Roux, Beth Myers, and Jessica Chapel be appointed to serve a oneyear term on the SAA Foundation Annual Meeting Award Committee.

**Support Statement:** These Board members are well qualified to serve in these important capacities from September 2023 to August 2024.

Fiscal Impact: None.