Society of American Archivists Council Meeting May 7-9, 2018 Chicago, Illinois

Selection of 2018-2019 Executive Committee Member and Nominating Committee Members

(Prepared by Nancy Beaumont)

BACKGROUND

According to the SAA Bylaws:

4. EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

The Executive Committee of the Council shall be composed of the President, the Vice President, the Treasurer, and one councilor who shall be elected for a term of one (1) year by the nine (9) councilors at the spring meeting of the Council....

and

5. ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND COUNCILORS

A. There shall be a Nominating Committee composed of five (5) members, two (2) of whom are selected at the spring meeting of the Council from among the councilors in their second year of service and three (3) of whom have been elected by the membership.

By tradition, the Council has agreed that the two Council members who are in their second year of Council service and who are not elected to serve on the Executive Committee are selected to serve on the Nominating Committee.

The following individuals are eligible to serve on the Executive Committee and the Nominating Committee in 2018-2019:

- Courtney Chartier
- Erin Lawrimore
- Bertram Lyons

An election for Executive Committee member to represent the nine Council members in 2018-2019 will be conducted at this point in the agenda.