Council Exemplary Service Award: Dictionary Working Group

Society of American Archivists

Council Exemplary Service Award

Honoring the

Dictionary Working Group

WHEREAS a working group was appointed by SAA in 2014 to expand on the 2005 edition of A Glossary of Archival and Records Terminology by Richard Pearce-Moses; and

WHEREAS this group, composed of Rosemary Pleva Flynn (chair), Kathryn Bowers, Tamar Chute, Kristy Darby, Pam Hackbart-Dean, Juli Folk, Lauren Haberstock, Cliff Hight, Geof Huth, Andrew Hyslop, Mary Elizabeth Ruwell, Dawn Schmitz, Margery N. Sly, Katy Sternberger, Joseph Turrini, and Diane Vogt-O’Connor, worked for six years to add hundreds of new terms, thousands of citations from more than 600 sources, and a new online platform; and 

WHEREAS the Dictionary of Archives Terminology is a comprehensive and organically evolving intellectual resource that provides open access to authoritative archival lexicon; and

WHEREAS this group of individuals unwaveringly dedicated their time and intellect toward the development of the Dictionary of Archives Terminology; 

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the SAA Dictionary Working Group be honored with a 2020 SAA Council Exemplary Service Award for the compilation and launch of the Dictionary of Archives Terminology.