Mark A. Greene Emerging Leader Award

Purpose and Criteria for Selection:

The Mark A. Greene Emerging Leader Award celebrates and encourages early-career archivists who have completed archival work of broad merit, demonstrated significant promise of leadership, and/or performed commendable service to the archives profession. The award is given based on the total experience of the awardee, including knowledge, leadership, participation, and/or achievements in the profession.

Nominees must be SAA members and will have more than two years and less than ten years of professional archives experience. Nominees must meet as many of the following criteria as possible:

  • Work of merit that has made a substantive contribution to an area (or areas) of the archives profession beyond the nominee’s local institution and that holds promise for future contributions.
  • Demonstrated leadership through collaborative work or exemplary service to local, regional, and/or national archival and cultural associations.
  • Involvement in successful outreach and advocacy efforts on behalf of the nominee’s institution and the archives profession.


Created in 2011 and renamed in 2017, the award honors SAA Fellow and Past President Mark A. Greene for his long-standing commitment to mentoring young leaders.


A certificate. 

First Awarded:


Selection Committee:

The Mark A. Greene Emerging Leader Award Subcommittee of the SAA Awards Committee consists of three members of SAA and one of the co-chairs of the SAA Awards Committee (ex officio). One member of the subcommittee shall be appointed each year by the SAA President-elect to serve a three-year term. The senior member of the subcommittee in years of service shall serve as its chair.

Submission Deadline and Nomination Requirements:

Click here to preview the nomination form and/or to start a nomination. All nominations must be submitted by February 28 of each year and include the following:

  • Nominee's résumé; and
  • Three letters of support from colleagues who are familiar with the nominee’s work and professional activities. 

 Mark A. Greene Emerging Leader Award Recipients:

2023: Catheryne Popovitch (Illinois State Archives)

2022: Sara Davis (Wyoming State Archives)

2021: Dorothy Berry (Harvard University, Houghton Library)

2020: Lydia Tang (Michigan State University)

2019: Wendy Hagenmaier (Georgia Institute of Technology)

2018: Harrison Inefuku (Iowa State University)

2017: Natalie Baur, El Colegio de México

2016: Matt Gorzalski, Southern Illinois University Carbondale 

2015: Cheryl Oestreicher, Boise State University

2014: Beth Shields, Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives

2013: Tanya Marshall

2012: Mark Matienzo